Maxed Out Mac Mini For HD Editing?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by blairh, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. blairh macrumors 68030

    blairh

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #1
    How would a maxed out Mac Mini (2.26 Ghz, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB HD) perform for HD video editing (potentially Canon HV 40) in Imovie and FCE?
     
  2. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #2
    just fine.
    my imac has lower specs than that and it's great.
    an external drive for your media would be a plan.
     
  3. TheStrudel macrumors 65816

    TheStrudel

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #3
    It'll work; just don't expect it to be blazing fast. And Matt's suggestion for an external drive is one you should take.
     
  4. blairh thread starter macrumors 68030

    blairh

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #4
    Thanks everyone. Exactly what I'm going to do.
     
  5. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #5
    AIC instead of HDV

    and as noted on another post, using AIC codec rather than the HDV codec will help take load off the CPU but it's 3 times the size on your HD. If you have a 1TB drive, you should go for the AIC... in theory it should render faster.
     
  6. robanga macrumors 68000

    robanga

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    I have a Maxed out Mini that serves both as an HTPC and I've begun to do more editing on it as well. It does great with HD vid
     
  7. blairh thread starter macrumors 68030

    blairh

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #7
    robanga,

    what are your specific specs on the mini?
     
  8. digitard macrumors 6502a

    digitard

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    #8
    I've always gone in figuring that as long as you have a decent base, even if its just the minimum, you'll get your project done (outside high end professional video production which due to the sheer size/complexity would push some systems to a crawl). You're just going to have to wait that extra time rendering.

    That's why they invented sleep! You simply set your project to render when you crazy. You wake up and it's done! The CROWDS REJOICE!
     
  9. robanga macrumors 68000

    robanga

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    2.26 Ghz, 4GB Ram, 120GB HD. I use an external FW HD
     
  10. blairh thread starter macrumors 68030

    blairh

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #10
    thanks robanga. i think i'll eventually get the exact same version mini you have.
     

Share This Page