Maxed out Mac mini with eGPU or iMac Pro

dohboyfresh

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 16, 2018
I'm a pro photographer currently using an old Mac Pro 5,1 tower with 3.2 Ghz quad-core xeon. It's starting to show its age and I'm thinking about getting a new computer for my editing. I mainly use it for photoshop and lightroom and process about 1k-2k images with it per month so speed and no lag is important. I also want to use it for some occasional video editing. I have an 2015 MBP 15in as well so I'd want something thats also faster than that.

My debate is going with a maxed out Mac mini with an eGPU vs a base iMac Pro. I'll be doing editing on an Eizo screen so the 5k screen isn't so important.

Caspavio

macrumors regular
Apr 18, 2018
im not a pro photographer, but i did read before somewhere that there is a significant diminishing marginal returns for increasing the cores. so with the mac mini i7 and base mac pro both at 3.2 ghz, i suspect that you will get rather similar performance.

as such, i would say the mac mini is a lot better bang for your buck.

F-Train

macrumors 65816
Apr 22, 2015
NYC & Newfoundland
Having just purchased an external GPU, here are what I believe to be your options on price:

The just released Blackmagic/Apple external GPU that uses a high-end AMD Radeon Vega 56 GPU: US$1200.

The recently released Blackmagic/Apple external GPU that uses a mid-market AMD Radeon RX 580 GPU: $700.

DIY external GPU with an AMD Radeon RX 580 GPU, assuming that prices for the RX 580 come down in the next week or so, which is likely: $420-$600, depending on which enclosure you select and whether you purchase a longer Thunderbolt 3 cable.

DIY external GPU with an AMD Radeon RX 590 (a new GPU released yesterday): launch price is $280, so $60 to $80 above the price of an RX 580, assuming that RX 580 pricing comes down and stays down.