Maxed out rMBP from classic. Decision time

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Guy Mancuso, Oct 25, 2013.

1. Guy Mancuso, Oct 25, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2013

Guy Mancuso macrumors 6502a

Morning maybe someone can help me out a little here making this decision. First off I am a Commercial Pro Photographer that shoots high end raw data and I use Capture One which is very processor dependent and obviously I use Adobe Creative suite as well. Make this clear I DO NOT do gaming at all. LOL

So my needs are pretty specific. Toady I am running the 15 inch 2.7 quad core I 7 with 16gb of ram and anti display screen. Its the last classic made

Inside the box I am running a Samsung 840 Pro 512gb and the optical drive removed with a second SSD a Samsung 840 500gb drive as backup and storage not to mention a OS backup on a partition. Its a fast machine but Im around 500 reads and writes give or take.

Secondly I am running a NEC wide Gamut monitor 27 inch and also a Pegasus TB 4th drive running Raid 0. Plus a few USB 3 externals.

Its basically a pretty maxed out system.

Im obviously attracted to the 2 TB ports as i can split the Pegasus and the Nec on the 2 ports. Today they share the same TB port which I think slows down the Pegasus which I could be wrong about that. I hate losing the MBP lock but whatever. I travel and this is my main unit on the road and in the office. I process on the road as well for shows and events. The retina is not the biggest deal for me but like to have it anyway.