maximize a window on Yosemite

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by atlchamp, Jul 27, 2014.

  1. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #1
    I dont understand why Apple just doesn't make the green button, a button that makes the app your using use the full desktop space, like a maximize button. Why is that so hard?! Yosemite needs to include that instead of the green button being full screen.
     
  2. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #2
    It does. Just hold down the option key and it changes from full screen arrows to a plus. The button is dual function. Except for non full screen apps, then it defaults to the old style plus button.
     
  3. 576316 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    #3
    Hasn't maximise always meant full screen? Even on Windows the third button in the corner is always the one that makes the window fill your screen. In Yosemite Apple have just made it so this button opens the app in full screen mode rather than having the arrows in the right hand corner like in Mavericks.
     
  4. atlchamp thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #4
    thank you!
     
  5. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #5
    You can also double click in the title bar, the default behavior is maximize.

    ... Jeff
     
  6. xzoidberg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #6
    These works for me:

    1. Zoom: Option + Click Fullscreen button

    2. Maximize: Option + Shift + Click Fullscreen button

    In OS X Yosemite, Fullscreen button is the third button, on top left of a window.

    Hey it's my first post! :p
     
  7. leinadhok macrumors member

    leinadhok

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    #7
    Thanks, roland.g.
     
  8. LAPTOPODO macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #8
    I would like to be able to select the kind of behaviour for those buttons :) at least for the green one!
     
  9. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #9
    I believe you can also double click or double tap the title bar and it will do the same.
     
  10. azpc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #11
    Thank you for responding!

    Unfortunately, Right Zoom is not fully compatible with several key apps used by clients.

    Opening a window to the full available window space is a fundamental issue. Users from Linux and Windows camps are shocked when they discover there is no true "Maximize" button on the Mac.

    Clients have been asking me about this with every OSX release since 2007. Every year clients want to know if this issue has been fixed. Each year the answer is the same - unfortunately no.

    Apple needs to provide some options in System Preferences to set the default behavior of the green zoom button.

    My suggestions are:

    Maximize Window for Content (Default before Yosemite)

    Full Window
    (Max Window size excluding menu bar and Dock)

    Full Screen (Yosemite Default)

    One other request:

    An option in Get Info for setting the default window size for an App. Windowed, Full Window, Full Screen.

    If you want to get involved, you can contact Tim Cook and Craig Federighi on Twitter. They are easy to find.
     
  11. superman23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #12
    on mine this minimizes the window. i think i set it up this way years ago but i cant remember. It used to be called Windowshades? i think this goes back a lot longer than i realize..
     
  12. bmac89 macrumors 6502a

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #13
    When I double click the title bar it actually minimises the window.
    For me this happens in the old OSX - Leopard, Snow Leopard, Mavericks as well as my clean installed Yosemite. I wonder why some people it works as maximise and others as minimise! Any ideas?
     
  13. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #14
    There is a setting to minimize on double click in;

    System Preferences/Dock

    Undo that and it maximizes on double-click.
     
  14. bmac89 macrumors 6502a

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #15
    Thanks - I will have a look at that. I don't know how I missed that.
     
  15. Frederico Luna macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    Recife - Brazil
    #16
    Did my part :) Just sent a feedback through Apple's website. Until they change that, i'll keep using SizeUp.
     
  16. gwjohnson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #17
    The Option + green button to fill screen does not seem to work with all apps – it doesn't seem to work for me in Excel for example...
     

Share This Page