Maximum HDD and Ram Size for Macbooks

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by MattJessop, Aug 23, 2009.

  1. MattJessop macrumors regular

    MattJessop

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #1
    Hey guys,

    Quick question, I've tried searching for this, but not found any specific answers.

    Basically, I'm soon upgrading my Macbook (Mid 2007 model, Macbook 2,1, 2.16Ghz) and just want to check what my options are for upgrading. I'm currently considering a 500Gb Sata HDD and 4Gb Ram. I understand that I'll only be able to use 3.3Gb for the ram, but that's not an issue. :)

    With the HDD, will the macbook accept the 500Gb, as long as it's the correct physical size, or do the Macbook's have a hardwired maximum HDD size?

    Cheers for your help.
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    the mb will take as high of a hdd thats a 2.5 sata

    i currently have a 500gigger and plan on upgrading to a bigger one possibly later
     
  3. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #3
    Any 2,5" HDD that's 9,5mm tall will work (there are also 12.5mm drives), there are no capacity restrictions. I believe the maximum officially supported ram for your model is 2 GB, but 4 GB (or 3.3 of 4) may work.

    EDIT : After consulting the guide I'm sure pretty sure your macbook can address 3.3 GB of ram out of 4 GB.
     
  4. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #4
    Max ram is ~3.1 addressable with 2x2gb sticks installed.
     
  5. Richard1028 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #5
    It might be later than you think since they don't exist.
     
  6. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #6
    WD is already shipping a 750 gb drive and their 1 TB drive should be available soon.
     
  7. Richard1028 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #7
    I see that now. What's up with the 5200rpm speed?
     
  8. MattJessop thread starter macrumors regular

    MattJessop

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    That's awesome, just what I wanted to here :) I'm gonna try and order it so it gets here around the same time as Snow Leopard, save me having to do 2 installs :D
     
  9. wallstreetcrash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    Will this change with Snow Leopard?
     
  10. txhockey9404 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #10
    No, it's a hardware limitation.
     

Share This Page