Maximum iMac Ram in Core Duo

Discussion in 'iMac' started by deltrotter, Oct 31, 2008.

  1. deltrotter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #1
    Hi Everyone

    All this stuff about 6gb/8gb Ram in the MacBooks has me a thinkin! When I bought my iMac a couple of years ago Apple stated that it had 2gb Ram Maximum. I was wondering if since then this has 'changed' ie. someone tried with 4gb and that works fine. Here's some system details on my machine:

    Model Name: iMac
    Model Identifier: iMac4,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 2 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz

    Cheers

    Del
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    2 GB of DDR2-667 is the maximum and it's hard locked in firmware for the Core Duo.
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    2gb :) i wish it was more. i have a core duo aswell!
     
  4. deltrotter thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
  5. bbain macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    #5
    At one point here was a thread about replacing the Core Duo with a Core 2 Duo in iMacs. Wonder if that would remove the 2GB memory constraint?
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    The memory is limited by the chipset and firmware, not just the CPU.
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    so to answer your question, no. haha
     

Share This Page