Maximum ram capacity - 2.4 2010 mac pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Dawoo, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. Dawoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    #1
    Just wondering what the max ram is in this system?

    Cheers
     
  2. wallysb01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #2
    OSX has an artificial limit at 96 GB of RAM. It will recognize more, but not use it.

    If you boot to windows or linux, you can use up to 128GB.
     
  3. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    OWC launched their 16GB modules when Snow Leopard was the latest OS though. We know Lion can address 128GB on C600 chipsets. Don't think anyone other than OWC have really tested it from what I've seen to confirm any change.
     
  4. wallysb01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #4
    Our lab just got the "new" 12-core 2.4 and put 128 GB of RAM in it (assuming we'd boot from linux to use that much). When I get the chance I'll test it to see if it actually uses >96GB and post what I find.
     
  5. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    That'd be great :).
     
  6. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    Windows 7 actually lets you utilize 192gb. Well at least anything higher than Home Premium can anyway. (Professional, Enterprise, Ultimate).

    And Windows Server 2008R2 Enterprise and Datacenter can utilize 2TB of ram.
     
  7. Puevlo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
  8. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #8
    Didn't you just reply in another thread that 32gb is too much for anyone? So wouldnt capping addressable memory at 96 not matter in your world anyway? Just saying....
     

Share This Page