Maximum RAM for a MBP Core Duo?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ace King, May 13, 2007.

1. Ace King macrumors newbie

Hello people,

New to the board here, have been lurking around for a about a week or so.

I purchased a MBP Core Duo 15" 2.16 Ghz back in November primarily because im a college student and wanted something that i knew was worth it and also because i record music in my spare time so i figured this was a no brainer.

Im very happy with the purchase, i record on the MBP all the time.

i was just wondering what the MAX RAM that this laptop expands to? ive read around and looked at the buying RAM guide on here. So far, if im not mistaken, this model expands to 2GB and not 3GB? I orignally thought it was 3 but after seeing some articles around the web, they state 2GB, so i really just want to get a firm and final answer to i can max out my RAM.

Thanks in advance!

2. coledog macrumors 6502a

coledog

It's 3gb...according to Apple. :p Hopefully they know!

Congrats on the purchase!

I am going to correct myself...I'm not sure because it's a Core Duo. I need to work on my reading comprehension:)

3. mBurns macrumors 6502

Coledog is mistaken..

I have a Core Duo 2.16 Ghz MacBook Pro. The maximum amount of ram that all Core Duos can hold is 2 gigs. I think it has something to do with the 32 bit chip architecture. The maximum ram the C2Ds can hold is 3 gigs. I hope this helps.

FYI -- I have 2 gigs in my machine. It rocks! :)

4. zioxide macrumors 603

zioxide

I'm going to guess 3GB.. it runs on the same platform as the C2D one using the same chipset, so it should be able to address the same amount of ram.

5. Ace King thread starter macrumors newbie

thank you both for the help. at first i thought it was 3, but liks mBurns stated, im pretty sure its 2GB max.

Well now that i know the maximum amounts, its time to go purchase the damn thing!

haha, i dont really NEED to max it out, but adding more RAM cant hurt me only help so im on my way to 2GB.