Maximum Ram for Mac Pro Mid 2012 with only one X5690

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by VillasManzanill, Feb 13, 2015.

  1. VillasManzanill macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #1
    Hello

    Is it possible to add 4 x 16gb ram 1333mhz to a Mac Pro Mid 2012 with one cpu X5690?

    Does someone actually have this setup to confirm?

    Or is 48gb ram the max?

    Thanks a lot! :)
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    4x16 is good for X5690, even though W3690 can go for 56G (3x16 + 8).
     
  3. VillasManzanill thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #3
    Thanks for the reply,
    Have you actually tested or seen in real life that it actually works on that mac pro? i know in theory it should work.

    Great if someone could post a snapshot of that configuration :D
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
  5. todesto macrumors member

    todesto

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Location:
    Fullerton, CA
    #5
    64GB works for sure with X5690.

    Just out of curiosity, what kind of work need 64GB memory? I had 32GB before on other system but wasn't even close using all of 32GB doing my work. :D
     
  6. spoonie1972 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    I can't say what he's using it for, but for composers, the more ram the better. (VSL, VEP5, Kontakt, etc)
     
  7. Dr. Stealth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    #7
    Ram Goodness

    OS X is very efficient at utilizing RAM. If you have it it will be used. When I moved to 64 GB I thought I would probably never use even half of it. Wrong. I use it every day. The file cache makes everything faster. I love it.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page