Maxtor One Touch III just died...now what?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by captions87, Jul 19, 2011.

1. captions87 macrumors newbie

I have a Maxtor One Touch III that I purchased about 5 years ago, and i use it with a unibody Macbook Pro. About a month ago, the hard drive stop being detected by my computer. Then I noticed that instead of the button in front of the unit flashing rather quickly, now it would only blink about once every 5-7 seconds, and instead of the gentle hum, it now makes a slow clicky noise that clicks as often as the light blinks. Basically it's doing what it used to do when it worked, only now it's only going half as fast. I've tried plugging it in with the FireWire and USB ports to no avail. I pretty much have everything of importance on that hard drive, as well as it being my Time Machine drive. I have limited knowledge of external hard drives, especially of one that's as dated as mine is. Anyone have any thoughts? I had been meaning to buy a new drive anyways, I just need to know what's the safest, cheapest way to get all the data that's on the Maxtor, into my computer/another hard drive?

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

Do you need data recovery or do you just need to know what to buy so you can transfer? I'm not sure I can decipher from your post.

As far as cheapest, data recovery is not cheap. You get what you pay for in that arena as far as I'm concerned. What is the best drive? They all fail, some more than others. I'm a fan of Western Digital and wouldn't touch an Deskstar or something from that line with anything since all that I have owned have failed. LaCie failed me as well and their customer service was terrible. They took a 7-month old drive with a 1 year warranty and told me to kick rocks. I don't waste my time or money on them any longer. That could change.