May Have Screwed Myself...GPU Problems

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Derived, Jul 28, 2017.

  1. Derived macrumors regular

    Derived

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest
    #1
    Have a 5,1 with a GTX1080 inside it.

    Without thinking I hit the update button in OS X today, and only once it shut down and started installing did I realize what I had done...after a while the screen went black and wouldn't come back on, I assumed it had finished and had rebooted to the desktop now obviously with no GPU drivers. Turned it off, swapped in my 680, rebooted.

    After rebooting with the 680, still nothing. Shut it down again, made sure it was seated probably, rebooted, still nothing. My display is getting no kind of signal from the 680 at all. Fan is spinning, but seemingly nothing else is happening.

    Wondering what my options are at this point...OS is on a PCIE SSD, so I suppose worst-case scenario I could buy an enclosure and boot my old MacBook Pro from that drive, make sure the OS update went through, then wait for the Nvidia driver to get an update and then update that? I'm not sure what else to do.

    Also have no idea why my 680 isn't working all of a sudden...also very confused by that.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #2
    Have you tried resetting PRAM with GTX 680 in your Mac?
     
  3. Derived thread starter macrumors regular

    Derived

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest
    #3
    Yup, just did that, still nothing. 680 worked great before I took it out.
     
  4. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #4
    Did you cleaned it 3 times in a row min?
    Assuming you have Mac EFI GPU (GTX680 or HD5770/5870) when you boot into single user mode (Command+S) do you have any boot arguments referencing nvidia driver when listing PRAM (nvram -p or nvram -xp)?
    Maybe try cleaning it from there (nvram -c).
     
  5. Derived thread starter macrumors regular

    Derived

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest
    #5
    I'm not sure what you mean by "clean it three times in a row" - I've done the reset a couple times, no change.

    I have no display output at all, so there's nothing really to see regardless of keyboard commands. No output of any kind.
     
  6. Silencio macrumors 68020

    Silencio

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    You don't have screen sharing or remote management enabled on your Mac Pro?

    You will need to remotely connect to the Mac Pro in some way so you can install the updated Nvidia web drivers.
     
  7. Derived thread starter macrumors regular

    Derived

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest
    #7
    I'm not sure if I do, to be honest. I was thinking too I could use target disk mode on the MBP to this as well.
     
  8. fendersrule macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #8
    There's no reason why putting the GTX 680 back in shouldn't display drivers for you. That is just weird.
     
  9. Derived thread starter macrumors regular

    Derived

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest
    #9
    My thoughts exactly. Going to try target disk mode, if for some reason it doesn't play ball I'm going to use the USB/SATA adapter. Should be lots of fun.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 28, 2017 ---
    Quick update - booted my MacBook Pro from the Mac Pro's SSD, 10.12.6 update did indeed finish, ran the Nvidia web driver update, and the CUDA update as well just because. Everything installed fine, rebooted, then I booted back to the main system drive in the MBP, ejected the Mac Pro system drive, put it back in the Mac Pro...still no video out...but it seems to be booting because it's getting to the desktop, volume keys on keyboard are working.

    I'm extremely confused, does anyone have any idea what this could be? Makes less than no sense, the driver is there, the machine has no problems at all. SMC reset has been done multiple times. Really can't do much else without a display.
     
  10. h9826790, Jul 29, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2017

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    Does your GTX680 flashed? Or if it's actually the Mac Edition card?
    --- Post Merged, Jul 29, 2017 ---
    target disk mode won't help anything. Your 680 should work regardless if the Nvidia driver is up to date. And target disk mode won't let you select Nvidia driver for the Mac Pro anyway.
     
  11. Derived thread starter macrumors regular

    Derived

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest
    #11
    Yeah I typed too soon...had it backwards in my head. Regardless - correct. 680 should work no matter what. I really don't know what to do other than possibly try to reinstall OS X while keeping all files. System booted fine, in fact incredibly fast on my MBP. So this is all very strange - assuming there's a corrupted file somewhere that just so happens to be keeping discrete GPUs from working.
     
  12. Synchro3, Jul 29, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2017

    Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #12

    Stupid question: Did you connect the two power cables?

    Or tried another PCI-E slot? Did you check the pins of PCI-E slot 1?


    Update: Sorry, did not read your last post that it is a software problem.
     
  13. Derived thread starter macrumors regular

    Derived

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest
    #13
    Using Time Machine to restore the SSD to a backup from before was the original software update was done. Hoping this works...
     
  14. thornslack macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #14
    I assume you're not attempting to use the top dvi port on your 680? Depending on your rom that port is often dead and could explain the lack of video output.

    But odd indeed. I was under the assumption that the 680/780 used stock drivers in OS X regardless of the nvidia web driver.

    I see that you have reset pram multiple times. Have you reset smc by physically unplugging the cMP and leaving unplugged for a minute? Is there a third video card installed, i.e. Gt120?
     
  15. Derived thread starter macrumors regular

    Derived

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest
    #15
    No, was trying the DisplayPort. The 680 should for sure work no matter what, I ran it without Nvidia drivers quite a bit...only reason I started downloading them was because I heard performance might be a tad better vs. the stock OS X driver. 1080 had no problems either, but neither card is working out of any output.

    I left it unplugged overnight, still no change. I don't have the 680 and 1080 in there together, just trying one at a time. No GT120 for me, just these two.

    Still waiting for the Time Machine restore to complete, if this doesn't work I will be properly stumped (and a bit worried).
     
  16. pertusis1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #16
    Not to be obtuse, but are you sure your monitor works? Have you connected it to another computer to show it works?

    Just a thought.
     
  17. Derived thread starter macrumors regular

    Derived

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Location:
    Midwest
    #17
    Monitor definitely works -

    After a restore it looks like everything is working. Have no idea what happened, maybe the force-shutdown during the update screwed something up.

    Also, the general system slowness that had been plaguing it is gone - SMC reset was needed I suppose.
     
  18. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #18
    The most reasonable explaination at this moment is that you kill the 680 at some stage, may be when you pull it out last time, or during installation this time.

    I assume you have a flashed 680 (or Mac EFI card), that means you will see the boot screen regardless of there is any OS (or even HDD).

    If only black screen available, the monitor and cable are checked working. Plug the cable into another port doesn't help. Then the only explanation is that the GPU itself is dead. (Here we assume the Mac is functioning, since you can hear the POST, and the Caps lock key on keyboard react).

    Since you said that you plug the HDD into a MacBook, then it means that you can set it up for screen sharing (remote control). This may be a easy way out.

    1) Pull all GPU out.
    2) use the Mac Pro HDD to boot your MacBook
    3) setup screen sharing, which allow your MacBook remote login
    4) install the HDD back into the cMP
    5) boot the Mac Pro
    6) start screen sharing from the MacBook
    7) select Nvidia driver (I assume you already finish all OS and driver update)
    8) shutdown the Mac
    9) install your 1080 back in

    And now the Mac Pro should function normally again.
     

Share This Page