May move to LR3 from Aperture, need help.

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by mistyp11, Jun 25, 2011.

  1. mistyp11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #1
    I am happy with Aperture, very happy actually, but I want to move due
    to the larger user base of LR, the books, classes, resources
    available, the presets, etc. I am really a beginning serious hobbyist,
    so before I get much more invested in learning Aperture, I want to
    formulate a plan to move to Lightroom. My Aperture library is a
    Managed library of about 16,000 images. I don't care about losing
    metadata or adjustments, I lost all of those when I imported them from
    iPhoto 6. My images as managed by aperture are in Folders by year,
    with a project for each month included in that year. I would like to
    have a similar set up in LR.

    So, can someone tell me what I need to do to move this all over? I
    think I need to relocate masters, but how do I need to set up LR
    before that to get ready to do the import? I would like to keep images
    arranged in folders by year, subfolders by month, maybe even subolders
    by date the image was taken.

    Also, Which books/ classes would you recommend for a person in my
    situation? I really don't like Lightroom at all. I have gone through
    two trial versions of the software. So much about it doesn't make
    sense to me. I know that I have to be missing something, because
    everyone else loves it.

    Thanks for anything you can tell me/ resources you can direct me to
    during the transition.
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    If you're happy with Aperture, I don't see a reason for the move to Lightroom if you don't like the interface after two trial periods. Aperture is a pretty powerful program as well and you might consider sticking with it. There are online tutorials made by Apple for Aperture here that you might consider taking a look at.

    Personally I use Lightroom but that's only because I've been using it since the beta of Lightroom 1 originally came out. It's a pretty nifty program, although if you like Aperture and are comfortable with it already, there's no real reason to switch.
     
  3. Badrottie Suspended

    Badrottie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    he is right..I tried both but I decided to keep LR because it does not mess with picture folder. Aperture requires to create new folders causes me to confuse which picture folder belongs to. Just like iPhote.
     
  4. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I have just gone through the same move, think I replied to you on the Adobe forum, but this is what I did and it seems to have worked without issues

    Relocated all the masters first and get these into the format I liked (by year/month)
    with doing this I still have all my edits done in Aperture without needed duplicate copies of my pictures, so can go back there for older ones

    Imported all these images in LR, which keeps the layout you did above (year/month for me)

    All new images I just deal with from now on in LR, but if i need to get any previous edits they are still visible in Aperture

    Both programmes now just access the files from my hard drive folders (instead of stored in Aperture) so I only have one set of images

    LR = Old images unedited & new edited images
    AP = Old edited images incase needed
     
  5. mofunk macrumors 68000

    mofunk

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Americas
    #5
    I use both. Definitely try before you buy.

    I like Aperture because it works well with Gallery. Next year I have to re-think this though :mad:
     
  6. Ruahrc macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #6
    +1. Why move from one system you don't understand to another? And one that you specifically say you don't like?
     
  7. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #7
    This.

    You will literally have to redo all your edits (unless there is some way to switch that I am unaware of). I really wouldn't suggest it. There are plenty of Aperture tutorials, not to mention almost every LR tutorial aside from user interface tutorials can be done in Aperture and vice versa. I've used LR since Beta and recently switched to Aperture 3 and both programs do the same thing.
     

Share This Page