Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mistyp11

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 25, 2011
I am happy with Aperture, very happy actually, but I want to move due
to the larger user base of LR, the books, classes, resources
available, the presets, etc. I am really a beginning serious hobbyist,
so before I get much more invested in learning Aperture, I want to
formulate a plan to move to Lightroom. My Aperture library is a
Managed library of about 16,000 images. I don't care about losing
metadata or adjustments, I lost all of those when I imported them from
iPhoto 6. My images as managed by aperture are in Folders by year,
with a project for each month included in that year. I would like to
have a similar set up in LR.

So, can someone tell me what I need to do to move this all over? I
think I need to relocate masters, but how do I need to set up LR
before that to get ready to do the import? I would like to keep images
arranged in folders by year, subfolders by month, maybe even subolders
by date the image was taken.

Also, Which books/ classes would you recommend for a person in my
situation? I really don't like Lightroom at all. I have gone through
two trial versions of the software. So much about it doesn't make
sense to me. I know that I have to be missing something, because
everyone else loves it.

Thanks for anything you can tell me/ resources you can direct me to
during the transition.

iBookG4user

macrumors 604
Jun 27, 2006
Seattle, WA
If you're happy with Aperture, I don't see a reason for the move to Lightroom if you don't like the interface after two trial periods. Aperture is a pretty powerful program as well and you might consider sticking with it. There are online tutorials made by Apple for Aperture here that you might consider taking a look at.