MB 2008 Alu with 8GB possible?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mobius 1, May 4, 2011.

  1. Mobius 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #1
    Hey guys. We know that the MB 2008 only adress 6GB RAM even the 8GB kit is installed (OWC wrote this) if more than 6GB memory is inserted then the machine would lag horribly

    I have the latest boot ROM version [MB51.007D.B03]


    Ya i haven't made any upgrades in a while.

    Someone told me this :http://www.macrumors.com/2011/03/07...-support-for-8-gb-ram-on-late-2008-notebooks/

    so i ask question in this thread.

    so should i install 8GB (2x4GB's) on my MB 2008 Alu?


    Mac OS 10.6.7 2.0GHz 2GB stock RAM 160GB 5400RPM stock HDD
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    from http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...-2.0-aluminum-13-late-2008-unibody-specs.html
     
  3. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #3
    6Gb will run just fine without any modification, I believe the 8Gb boot ROM thing only applies to the first unibodies from 2008, nor your early 2008 version.
     
  4. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #4
    I purchased it 2 yrs ago is 8GB ok ? 2009 btw


    And will it work even if i use more than 6GB of the 8GB? Will it lag?


    Guy @ apple store said if you go over limit it will LAG not improve performance

    I'm so confused now:confused:
     
  5. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #5
    Okay, go to the :apple: on the top left, about this mac, more info, and give us the model identifier.

    That will tell us exactly which macbook pro you have, and we'll then be able to tell you for sure how much RAM it can take.
     
  6. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    Hmm, maybe this applies then?

     
  8. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #8
    the dude at the apple store says that if you go over capacity you will lag. And i'm like wha?



    If it support 8GB, can i use all 8GB at once?


    I already know if it can take 8GB
     

Share This Page