MB 5,1 (the only) Alu Dispaly issues

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by adam9c1, Aug 30, 2015.

  1. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #1
    I have picked up a Macbook 5,1

    Only rarely the display is ok. Sometimes if I move the LCD angle it will get better or worse.
    If I can get to the menu to clone the display to external no issues.

    Is there a way to "hardcode" to always clone the display?
    Will this get worse (sometimes it's tricky to get enough display to work to move the mouse)

    Sometimes it feels like the mouse is not responding but I think it's the display not showing proper image.


    I have removed the bottom cover and blew out dust etc from where I saw, upgraded from 2GB to 4GB and from 5400 rpm to 7200 rpm HD.

    While stock 2GB and stock 5400 RPM system was very sluggish at clean install of 10.10.5.

    I have upgraded to 4GB and 7200 RPM HD, feels much snappier.



    Attached are a few photos:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
  3. adam9c1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
  4. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #4
    He was talking about at the LCD end.
     
  5. adam9c1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #5
    Update: sometimes I will get more garbage on the built in screen. Some vertical lines.

    Sometimes the screen will start to sort of fade to black (actually to white color) and freeze ie no mouse movement (yet all is ok on external).

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1441162283.683731.jpg

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1441162294.667716.jpg

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1441162305.750898.jpg
     

Share This Page