MB and MBP RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by -Nick, Jun 17, 2007.

  1. -Nick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #1
    Do the Macbook and Macbook Pro use the same RAM?

    For example, if was one was to upgrade the RAM in a Pro, would the 1GB stick(s) removed then work in a standard Macbook? With the Macbook and Pro both being brand new. I see in the complete specs that they're both 667Mhz DDR2, but I want to make sure.
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Yes they do

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  3. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Yes but the latest MBP can support 4GB, whereas the MB can only support 3.2, so if you put a 2x2GB sticks in, you wouldn't be utilizing all the available RAM on the MB.
     
  4. -Nick thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #4
    Yep, I was just wondering because Im getting a Macbook for University, and a friend is getting the Pro. And he wants to upgrade to 3GB of RAM (aftermarket), so I was thinking that I could get that spare 1GB stick off him, and stick it in my Macbook.
     
  5. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #5
    Yep, that'll work fine.
     

Share This Page