mb should have ddr3 ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by G.T., Aug 13, 2009.

  1. G.T. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #1
    The white mb on apple uk says it has ddr2 ram, but if it has the 9400m gt doesn't that mean the motherboard supports the ddr3 slots which are not backward compatible with ddr2, or can the manufactures customize the motherboard?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    No, the GPU has nothing to do with the RAM supported.

    If manufacturers couldn't make their own boards (which Apple always does), every computer would have the same ports and the iMac/laptops couldn't be as thin as they are.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    The MCP79A's controller supports DDR2 or DDR3 RAM.

    The White MacBook with the 9400M G has DDR2 SODIMM RAM.
     
  4. G.T. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #4
    Oh I know GPU has nothing to do with it but cause it is an integrated gpu I wondered if it should say ddr3 on the website or if it does use ddr2, but the question has now been answered. :D
     
  5. donuttakedonuts macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #5
    what I never understood was why does the mbp use ddr3 ram but only has 2 slots, so you don't get tri channel?
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    It's only dual channel.
     
  7. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #7
    DDR3 has nothing to do with tri channel. The Mac Pro is optimal with tri channel DDR3 memory because Nehalem was designed that way. The "3" in DDR3 doesn't mean tri channel or the "2" in DDR2 mean dual channel. Tri and dual channel is based upon the CPU.
     

Share This Page