mb wireless?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by bennyboyt, May 28, 2008.

  1. bennyboyt macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #1
    I was wondering what the wireless abilities on the macbooks are like?

    Are they easy to use, and what do you think the remote possibility is that when im on holiday in spain, come august, that when im in the holiday resort or in a part of the town that i would be able to pick up a signal? (of course this is provided there is a internet wireless signal to be picked up)

    thanks :)
     
  2. Qwest905 macrumors 6502

    Qwest905

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #2
    the wireless on the MB is so easy...you don't have to configure a thing unless the network you are trying to connect to is protected
     
  3. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #3
    I 2nd that! It's extremely fast and effortless on my part. I can't believe how many possible connections show up when I turn my BlackBook on. It's amazing! :cool:
     
  4. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    A friend was in Spain last month and from the 10th floor of his hotel he had a choice of 6 open networks to choose from.

    MacBooks probably have the best wireless reception of all the Mac/PC laptops out there.

    I think you will be ok !
     
  5. bennyboyt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
  6. Luzzio macrumors regular

    Luzzio

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #6
    The wireless works great on the Macbook.

    Initially though, at 10.5.1 it had problems picking up a wireless signal in my house. Would only work once in awhile.

    10.5.2 onwards, there was no problem picking up the signal. But I had to authorize and manually connect to my specific wifi (there are about 9 signals discoverable from my room) everytime after closing the MB (which puts it to sleep).

    With the recent 10.5.3, it doesn't even ask me which wireless signal I want to use anymore once awake, connecting automatically to my previous password protected wifi in 5 seconds tops :cool:
     

Share This Page