MB with two Hard Drives

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by ViPhone, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. ViPhone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a MB mid-2010 version 7,1 with its original base level, factory components still installed. 2 GB RAM, 250 GB SATA ect.

    I'm going to bump it up to 8GB of RAM and install the Seagate Momentus XT Hybrid 500GB as my main drive. Should I consider installing a second drive in the OptiBay? How do I do that? Will it increase performance significantly if done right?

    Let me know your thoughts.
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    It won't increase performance unless it's a SSD. I wouldn't bother unless you plan on a SSD, which would make the momentus XT pointless, or if you need more than 500GB of storage.
     
  3. ViPhone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #3
    Ok thanks. Was just wondering if having two would speed it up.
     
  4. Mutinygraphiks macrumors regular

    Mutinygraphiks

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #4
    in my opinion having an ssd with your OS and program files, and a hybrid as a storage for music, photos, etc. would be ideal for anyone quick loads for the programs, and safe setup for saving other files.
     
  5. ViPhone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #5
    Ok. If it increases speed or performance it's worth it to me.
     
  6. Mutinygraphiks macrumors regular

    Mutinygraphiks

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #6
    the only thing that can truely speed up your computer is processor speed and ram size.
     
  7. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #7
    For "how" watch this video.
     
  8. kidstretch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #8
    I have a Macbook late 2008, i was thinking of getting the same hybrid hdd, i'd like to install the OS in the SDD and the files on the HDD.
    Just was wondering though, i think the SDD is 4 GB, is this enough for the OS?
    Would love some feedback if you buy it, is it faster, does it get hotter etc?
     
  9. ViPhone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #9
    I'll let you know if I decide to do it.
     
  10. ViPhone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #10
    Just checked the video: that's a 2008 Unibody. Does that make a difference? I have the mid-2010 and they can be quite different.
     
  11. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #11
    That can't answer. Maybe someone else can?
     
  12. ViPhone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  13. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #13
    You might call the customer suport folks at OWC, since they sell the kits, that could probably answer your question.
     
  14. ViPhone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  15. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #15
    Would be interested in the answer.
     
  16. Mutinygraphiks macrumors regular

    Mutinygraphiks

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #16
    a 4gb ssd hard drive is not gonna be enough for any OS, you need to get like a 16gb at least, but if you run programs like photoshop, or anything hefty id suggest looking for a 32 or a 64gb just to handle all your program needs.
     

Share This Page