MBA 11.6" and 2560x1600 resolution?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by naujoks, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. naujoks macrumors 6502

    naujoks

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I heard it's possible, but can't seem to get over 1920x on my 30" screen.
    Does anyone if and how I can get this done?
     
  2. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #2
    You need a mini display port to dual link DVI adapter such as this one from the apple store
     
  3. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #3
    Or just get a 30" screen that supports Display port like the Dell U3011, then you won't have to waste 100$ on a broken adapter (yes, there's a lot of problems with Apple's dual-link DVI adapter).
     
  4. naujoks thread starter macrumors 6502

    naujoks

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    I have the Dell 3007wfp, and given how expensive these things are, I'm not planning to get another one anytime soon...
     
  5. J273 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #5
    I run the same monitor with my 11" Air and it works fine at the full 2560 x 1600 res.

    As mentioned though you do need one of apples dual link adapters....mines one of the later model adapters and ive had no problems so far.
     
  6. naujoks thread starter macrumors 6502

    naujoks

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Good to know, but they're so incredibly expensive! A stark contrast to the mini display adapter I got from Hong Kong for £5, that can do 1920x... resolution at least.

    It's not that I would really need the full resolution, but it would be a fun thing to be able to do. Too expensive for a bit of fun though, I think...
     
  7. ja12ke macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    #7
    Still need a quality mini-display to display port connector...
     
  8. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Dual Link DVI (2560 X 1600) is twice the BW and resolution of 1920X1080. Whether is it worth $100 is a personal decision. For me... it is a bargain. I cannot imagine spending the money for a 2560x1600 display (the expensive part), and then only driving it at 1/2 of its capability to save $100.

    /Jim
     
  9. Thiol macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #9
  10. ja12ke macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
  11. naujoks thread starter macrumors 6502

    naujoks

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
  12. ja12ke macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    #12
    you don't need dual link DVI if you run via the displayport connection. It doesn't have the max resolution limit that a single DVI has. Dual DVI = displayport in terms of resolution. Displayport max resolution is 2560 x 1600...
     
  13. Thiol macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #13
    The OP can't use the cable you suggested because the Dell 3007wfp doesn't have a DisplayPort input. That's why he's looking for a miniDisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI adapter.
     
  14. naujoks thread starter macrumors 6502

    naujoks

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #14
    Actually, the Dell DOES have a DisplayPort input!
    I never realised there's another option for me in that case? So what kind of cable/adapter am I really looking for then?
     
  15. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #15
    According to the spec sheet for the Dell 3007wfp, it does not have DP. Either the spec sheet is wrong... or you are mistaken on the port.

    If you do not have DP input, then you need a dual link DVI cable if you want to get the potential out of the expensive monitor that you purchased.

    /Jim
     
  16. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #16
    If you do in fact have a DisplayPort input, just get a miniDisplayPort -> DisplayPort cable, they're pretty cheap. You will probably want to look at your monitor to make sure you have that first though.
     
  17. fyrefly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    #18
    That would work with the 30" Model that needs Dual-Link DVI to work with it. And that's already been posted earlier in the thread.

    According to Dell - the 3007WFP doesn't have DisplayPort:

    http://www.dell.com/content/topics/...onitor_3007wfp?c=us&l=en&s=gen&~section=specs

    But if the OP actually has the 3008WFP-HC then it has displayport, and would only need a cable like this to connect to the 11" MBA:

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10246&cs_id=1024606&p_id=6007&seq=1&format=2
     
  18. naujoks thread starter macrumors 6502

    naujoks

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #19
    Whoops! I do in fact have the 3008(!)WFP, which has the DisplayPort. Guess I'm lucky and only need a cheap(er) cable now. Thanks, guys!
     
  19. Ringochan, Dec 16, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2010

    Ringochan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #20
    Mini display <--> display & Maximum resolution

    I bought the mini display to display cable from

    http://estore.circuitassembly.com/products/Mini-Displayport-to-Displayport-Adapter-Cable.html

    to connect my MBP (early 2009) to my Dell U2711. It works perfect and the their service (circuitassembly) is good and fast.

    To get the full resolution I need to close my MBP (put it to sleep) and then wake it up again with a bluetooth device. I have done this with both a wireless keyboard through usb and Apple's bluetooth keyboard and trackpad. After waking up check the display preferences and you can set it to 2560x1440.

    Good luck!
     
  20. super tomtendo macrumors 6502a

    super tomtendo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    Florida

Share This Page