MBA 11" and Crysis 2

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by gman901, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. gman901 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    I am not sure if anyone else has installed the retail disk on their 11" Air, but I thought I would share the game is very playable and looks awesome on high settings and a resolution of 1280 by 720. :D
     
  2. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    I don't know what you mean 'playable' in high setting on your MBA. but I highly doubt that you can actually play without hip cop or slow motion. graphic card used on MBA is not sufficient for playing crisis 2. to me, 'playable' means that FPS should be more than 30fps. but I don't think that your MBA can do that. I guess 5-10fps? (high setting). that's not playable. I don't understand why people, who bought MBA, try to play games. if you wan to play games, you waste money to have mac. I have macbook pro 15inch. but I already know gaming performance is not greater than I expect. so I usually play it on PC. less spending money, and get maximum performance. how efficient.
     
  3. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    video or it didn't happen. seriously, I'm not buying this.

    archurban, what you're failing to realize is that people buy macs because they like macs. they're not buying the machine "to play games," but it's nice when a computer that you buy for other purposes can also play games. Maybe not with the same fps as a gaming pc, but that's not necessary to enjoy the game.
     
  4. gman901 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #4
    Because "high" setting is the lowest setting in the game. It plays fine to me and if I lower the resolution, it's smoother but not as sharp looking. I don't see a problem having just a Mac for everything i do, including gaming. I am not into having the best gaming performance on my laptop, I just want it to be playable. As long as it is enjoyable, that is all that really matters.
     
  5. IceCarpediem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #5
    Hmmm... I wonder how it will play on my 1.4Ghz MBA 11 :D

    I've many games installed (Cider, CXZ, Wineskin wrapper based) and they run great.... just that they are older games (UT2K4, Quake 4, Halo, Republic Commando etc etc)... Bootcamp gaming is something for me to try later... and Crysis 2 is definitely one I'm looking forward to play on my MBA :D
     
  6. gman901 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #6
    I think it will be fine on the base model 11" because of the graphics card. It's more gpu intensive versus CPU. Try this resolution - 1024 x 600. I was getting about 20-22 FPS using Fraps. The graphics look very good on the 11" screen.
     

Share This Page