MBA 11 Ultimate with Yosemite - Does it work ok

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Wicked1, Jan 5, 2015.

  1. Wicked1 macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    looking at either 11 or 13" MBA but thinking of getting a refurb Ultimate with 8GB/512GB but how do they work with Yosemite, as Apple loads this on all their new Macs?

    I am on a 2012 MBP 13" 2.5 4GB/240GB SSD with Lion
     
  2. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #2
    What is an Ultimate?
     
  3. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
  4. b0fh666 macrumors 6502a

    b0fh666

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    south
    #4
    maxed out, perhaps.

    your 2012 13" is faster than an MBA... and can take 16GB of ram
     
  5. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #5
    And what is this thread about?
     
  6. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #6
    I think he's asking how well a refurb 2013 i7/8gb/512gb MBA works under Yosemite, since it originally shipped with Mountain Lion. The i7 MBA hardware was not updated in 2014.

    I have a 2013 11" i7/8gb/512gb and am still running Mountain Lion. I have a lot of old software and upgrades always break something.
     
  7. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #7
    The specs have nothing to do with how Yosemite runs.
    From my experience it runs fine on mac mini (2012), rmbp (2013), mba (2013).
    I agree that there is no need to upgrade if everything works fine.
     
  8. Wicked1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    Essentially why I was asking, do not like Yosemite, and have some older apps, really wanted an Ultimate MBA but do not want to give up on MLion
     
  9. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #9
    Then run Mountain Lion on it.
    Whatever makes you happy ;)
     
  10. Wicked1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #10
    But if I buy a Refurb from Apple they have Yosemite on them, can you go back to ML if it comes with Yosemite
     
  11. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #11
    Yes, you can.
     
  12. Wicked1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    Ok, so the Restore Key I made for my 2012 13" MBP will work to let me restore an 11" MBA to ML? If not how is that done, I have not upgraded from ML on my 13" MBP since I am not sure how you can go back?
     

Share This Page