MBA 11inch late 2010 with 4GB Ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by rcorai, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. rcorai macrumors member

    rcorai

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Argentina
    #1
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    No, the RAM in your MBA is not upgradable. It's soldered to the logic board and there are no upgrade chips available. Any attempt to do so would also void the warranty and AppleCare.
     
  3. rcorai thread starter macrumors member

    rcorai

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Argentina
    #3
    I didn't know that. It's a shame. If I purchase the new MBA 13' will I have the same issue in the future if I want to update the ram?
     
  4. kodeman53 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #4
    Yes.
     
  5. Beanoir macrumors 6502a

    Beanoir

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Location:
    51 degrees North
    #5
    Nothing is impossible, but it's certainly not recommended.

    It has been done before I understand, but you'd need the right kit, the parts and the know how...it'd cost you less to by a brand new MBA I expect.
     
  6. rcorai thread starter macrumors member

    rcorai

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Argentina
    #6
    I was thinking to buy a new MBA on apple.com. With these info I will have to consider upgrade to 8GB Ram during the purchase process. Is not expensive and will avoid a lot of issues in the future.

    Thank you guys!
     
  7. SmOgER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    #7
    If you wonder what are the reasons for this, I believe one could be a simple marketing. If these 2GB RAM MBAs had upgradable RAM, majority of the owners would greatly delay their purchase of new laptops for sure.
     

Share This Page