MBA 2013 vs MBA 2014

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by PharmDoc, Jun 8, 2014.

1. PharmDoc macrumors 6502

Hi Everybody

I have a MBA 2011, 13 in that is absolutely in perfect condition but I'm getting a bit irritated with the shorter battery life. I'm looking to sell this and get a refurb 2013 that's in the Apple store which would cost me about $500 after selling this one. Is there any noticeable difference between the 2013 and the 2014 refresh? I'm definitely not a power user anymore but I do like that 8 to 10 hour battery life vs the 4 hours I'm getting now. Thanks

PharmDoc

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

Nope... 100Mhz speed bump that you will never notice. Go for the refurb and save your money.

3. mad3inch1na macrumors 6502a

If you are that keen to upgrade just because of a battery life boost, wouldnt you be pretty upset when Apple released a completely redesigned MBA later this year? If you absolutely cannot live with 4 hours of battery life, then you should get a new computer, but if it works fine, I don't think it would be worth the money. Definitely the 2013 version by the way between the two.

Matt

4. cedwhatev macrumors 6502

cedwhatev

5. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Refurb, nothing really changed with the 2014 bump. I'd not even call it a refresh its so minor.

6. SmOgER macrumors 6502a

It's probably only a matter of time till someone finds a way to flash 2014 firmware on 2013 model, cause it's really IS a very minor bump. :)

7. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

What do you mean by flashing 2014 firmware :confused:. Apple only bumped up the processor speed.

8. SmOgER, Jun 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2014

SmOgER macrumors 6502a