MBA 2014 About This Mac Language Problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by macphisto538, Jun 28, 2014.

  1. macphisto538 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #1
    Just got a new MBA 2014 11" from the Best Buy promotion. When I went to About This Mac - More Info - It says "11-tolline, 2014. aasta algus" right below "MacBook Air". It should say 11 inch. Early 2014. Does anyone else have this problem on their 2014 MBA? All of my language settings are in English and the region is United States.
     
  2. blck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    #2
    That's strange... It appears to be in Estonian.
    Try reinstalling the machine by booting up from the recovery volume (Google it if you don't know how)
     
  3. DmbShn41 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #3
    It seems to be a common issue with new MBA 2014 models. Several have mentioned it. English is the default language, but several places will show what appears to be Estonian. A call to Apple will make them aware, not sure if there is a sure fire fix though.
     
  4. macphisto538 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #4
    I've done the reinstall from recovery partition and also the internet recovery with the same results.

    I went to three different Best Buys and the local Apple Store. All display model MBA 2014 units have the same issue.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. slattery69 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Paid Shill
    #5
    i started a thread on it yesterday as id just got a new air. you can change it with text wrangler but now i know its a common problem ill just leave it
     
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
  7. gmanist1000, Jun 29, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2014

    gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #7
    I just got in 18 MBA's for my school, and they all have this issue. Strange!

    I submitted a Bug Report to Apple.
     
  8. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #8
    Did 10.9.4 fix this for anyone?
     
  9. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #9
    Odd. I wonder what the underlying reason for the issue is.
     
  10. Idarzoid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #10
    Seems to be exclusive to US (with the majority of them coming from Best Buy), haven't heard of anyone in the UK having this issue, my MBA didn't get it either.
     
  11. slattery69 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Paid Shill
    #11
    I'm from the UK and I have this issue with my macbook air 2014. In fact went into PC world today and looked at the Macbook air s in there and they all also had it
     
  12. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #12
    I just received an email regarding this bug, they suggested to try this:

    "Probably a bad cached name from the Applecare servers. Please delete the file at:

    ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.SystemProfiler.plist and try again."


    I'm unable to test it at this time, can someone try and see the results?
     
  13. Asuriyan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    Indiana
    #13
    Aside from fiddling around in .plists, reinstalling from a Mavericks USB cleared this up where Internet recovery did not.
     
  14. slattery69 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Paid Shill
    #14
    Ideal thanks deleting that file and rebooting fixed it
     
  15. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #15
    Great!
     
  16. macphisto538 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #16
    I tried looking for that file. I did the ShowAllFiles terminal command, but that specific plist file isn't in the folder. Any ideas?
     
  17. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #17
    This issue seems to be related to only the MBA. I haven't seen it mentioned on the forums for other machines.

    Lou
     
  18. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #18
    Copy the entire text: ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.SystemProfiler.plist

    Click your desktop, click Go > Go to Folder

    Paste that text, and you should go right to it, and you can easily delete it.

    ----------

    Seems strange to me, I'm wondering if we'll see a future software update to fix it.
     

Share This Page