MBA 2015 SSD UPGRADE

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by NVRENUF!, Oct 26, 2015.

  1. NVRENUF! macrumors regular

    NVRENUF!

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    PERTH, Australia
    #1
    Hi guys

    Seeing most of the threads here are for the older models.
    They don't help.

    I recently purchased a Transcend 250gig SSD Upgrade for my 2015 Mac Book Air
    how ever upon going to fit it. The transcend SSD is about an inch longer than my factory SSD.

    Trancend do not offer a newer model. This must be for the older models.

    My supplier can't find any models that fit my machine going off the length 9cm long
    and the same width. Samsung don't even sell my model to the public.

    So we are a bit stuck on what to do .

    Does anyone know where i can get a 250gig or bigger ssd for my MBA 2015 model. that is the same spec or higher than the current samsung in there. That will fit.


    Cheers
    Tim

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #2
    No thirdparty ssd will work. Apple use proprietary signaling in the interface. Only original spareparts and secondhand will. You can find some on ebay.
     
  3. NVRENUF! thread starter macrumors regular

    NVRENUF!

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    PERTH, Australia
    #3
    Is this for the current model now ? As previous models didn't have this issue ?

    Is there a place i can buy original spare parts ?
     
  4. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #4
    Since 2013 models I believe.
     
  5. NVRENUF! thread starter macrumors regular

    NVRENUF!

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    PERTH, Australia
    #5
    Don't suppose apple will sell parts separately :/ Knew i should have got the bigger drive in the beginning.
     
  6. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #6
    I don't think they will. They have very strict control in place on spareparts. I bought my 2014 model with 512GB and 8GB of memory, because I knew upgrading memory would be impossible later on and SSD a lot of trouble and not cheaper.. But also because I once in a while need to run Windows, which will need 200GB storage and doing it in a virtual machine will need all the ram I can get.

    But as I said, you can find some on Ebay. Even new parts. The new parts are mostly from US however. Which here in Europe will quickly will raise the expense of getting it through custom to a level, where it is not worth buying.
     
  7. jjduru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    #7

    If you could just enable trim on the new one... Sorry, I couldn't resist.
     
  8. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #8
    ^^^^AHHHHHH - Come on:oops:

    On a serious note - The aftermarket did promise upgrades for the 2013 and above MBAs back in 2013. But it never materialized. Don't know why. The 2012 is the latest MBA that can be retrofitted with an aftermarket replacement SSD. My 2012 MBA is running a Transcend 480GB unit.

    Lou
     
  9. asoksevil macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Taipei, Taiwan
    #9
    OWC said that about 2 years ago and I really do want to believe that they are still working on it but as time passes this just doesn't seem to get any better.
     
  10. SmOgER, Oct 28, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2015

    SmOgER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    #10
    This.
    The customs are not necesserily that bad and depending on the shipping method you can avoid them altogeter.

    OR buy a whole defective laptop with desired SSD intact and sell it without SSD afterwards.

    EDIT: There is a rather messy 3rd option as well:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/512GB-SSD-f...501923?hash=item33a67c63a3:g:BSoAAOSw~gRVtCVF
     
  11. guychicago macrumors 6502

    guychicago

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #11
    Apparently OWC mentions new SSD's coming early 2016 on their website.
     
  12. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #12
    I'm a little curious as to what you purchased. Did Transcend actually claim that it was compatible with the 2015 MacBook Air?

    As others have said, Apple changed designs in 2013 and there have been promises of third party drives but they haven't materialized. Unfortunately, you have to think twice about your storage needs before purchasing.
     
  13. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #13
    ^^^^Did you not read the posts made after that statement? Still no such thing for the latest MBAs.

    Lou
     
  14. magbarn macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #14
    Biggest reason why 2012 had updates is that it used a SATA interface. In fact a 'hack' is available I which you can get a msata adapter and put a Samsung 850 in. The problem with the newer mbp and mba is the proprietary pcie interface. No one has bothered to try to make and adapter for it. Some of apple's ssd suppliers tried to sell some on their own but apple sent them a cease and desist. You're stuck either replacing your laptop or buying off ebay. I did with my rmbp 13 2013 model and bought a used 1tb ssd. Cost me $600 though!
     
  15. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #15
    Yes, I read them. Did I miss something? Did you actually read my post? I agreed with the others who said there are no compatible third party SSD's. But the OP said he "purchased a Transcend 250gig SSD Upgrade". I asked if Transcend (wrongly) advertised this product as being compatible with the 2015 MBA.
     
  16. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #16
    ^^^^The Transcend web site is advertising no such device.
     
  17. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #17
  18. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #18
    I think it is a google translate, which would make sense, since it is shipped from China.

    But it would likely work, if the quality of the product is okay of course.
     
  19. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #19
    - Perhaps. But how does it work? They're selling an adaptor card which fits into the machine's PCIe socket. And into that adaptor, I'm supposed to fit which SSD exactly? Or is a custom type of SSD included (Even though picture number 3 states that "the ssd is not included")?

    It just seems dodgy.
     
  20. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #20
    The SSD is included. What they mean in picture 3, is that the SSD's pictured is not included.

    Essentially, a cheap 512GB SSD upgrade for your MBA/P.
     
  21. SmOgER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    #21
    Yes, the SSD is included and that adapter has the flashed firmware specifically for that SSD they used. It only makes sense to assume what they meant was that the SSD you see in that pic is not necessarily the same exact you would get.

    What's bad about it is that sleep might no longer work properly, it will be somewhat slower, reliability is questionable and it will be very unethical selling such a macbook afterwards without specifically mentioning that you have chinese DIY SSD in it, and if you do mention it - good luck getting a decent price for it.

    But yeah, all those things aside, it should work. :D
     

Share This Page