MBA alternatives (not replacing!)

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by fayewolf, Aug 25, 2014.

1. fayewolf macrumors newbie

Recently I got my MBA 8gb/256 and I'm very happy with this along with my ipad. However for work, my company only allow us to use PC, and now we are selecting our new laptops- YOGA or Carbon.

I wanted to pick carbon because I really don't need to have another touch screen or ipad like machine, but I'm open to suggestions/comments/recommendation?

2. m98custom1212 macrumors 6502

If it has to be Lenovo then Carbon.

Any high end ultrabook will have a touchscreen.

Acer S7
    Samsung Ativ Book 9 Plus
    Toshiba Kira
    Asus VivoBook

3. canuckRus macrumors 6502

canuckRus

Piggyback Windows7 or 8 OS onto your new MBA perhaps?

4. m98custom1212 macrumors 6502

Mostly likely needs a company laptop that the company has control over.

5. fayewolf thread starter macrumors newbie

Yep, those are my only options. Yoga or Carbon.

Aside from the touch screen- which one is a better laptop? I mainly would use it to do presentation. ( taking it out and present like a ipad is not a necessity for me, i love doing my presentation on my macbook )

I currently VPN into my work email and access file on my MBA a lot. I work in the field, so no one will scold me. :)

6. mad3inch1na macrumors 6502a

I vote for the yoga. The carbon supposedly has a bad/redesigned keyboard, but I haven't used either. If you can get the YOGA Pro 2 then I think you would be most happy with that. I just did a google search though.

Matt

7. m98custom1212 macrumors 6502

Carbon is my Vote. True business class ultra book. What do you want to know?

8. fayewolf thread starter macrumors newbie

I am unable to actually see the real thing, since I work in the field. I want something that functions and look (well, maybe not) like a macbook/mba. Thin, clean looking, minimalistic, light.

Good battery life, does the machine boots up quickly like the Macs?