MBA and External Monitor Set-Up

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by stockcerts, Jul 17, 2013.

  1. stockcerts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    I'm sure there is a simple answer, but I'm a newbie with a MBA. I have a thunderbold to VGA adaptor plugged into my MacBook, but nothing is displaying on the external monitor. I didn't see any settings in displays that allow for this option.

    Any suggestions? Thanks!!
     
  2. Panch0 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    Check the input source on the Monitor. It may be showing it's HDMI or DVI inputs instead of VGA.

    OS X should automatically detect the monitor.
    In Settings/Displays
    The General Tab displays the settings for the two monitors on the monitor they affect, so if you aren't getting anything on the monitor side, you won't see any settings there.
    The Arrangements Tab is only shown on the Main monitor and should have blue squares representing each monitor.

    I guess that a very old monitor might not be supported (based on available resolutions), but I've never experienced that so I don't know what it would look like.
     
  3. Abazigal macrumors 604

    Abazigal

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    What do you mean by nothing?

    Just a blank screen? Any wallpaper?

    It's possible your adaptor is faulty. Any way to try with another monitor?
     
  4. molesworth_2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    #4
    It says "No mDP Cable. The display will go into Power Save Mode in 5 minutes" And the monitor does not show up in my displays preferences. Most confusing.
     
  5. molesworth_2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    #5
    It's a brand new monitor, so I don't think that's the problem. I'm stumped.
     
  6. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #6
    No need to theorize about what might be broken. Use the scientific method to figure it out. Get another computer and plug it in to the monitor to see if it works.
     

Share This Page