MBA and iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DrDoug, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. DrDoug macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    #1
    Am going to get a 13" new Macbook Air.

    I have a 27" iMac i5 from late 2009 at home.

    Will I be able to connect the MBA to the iMac with a MDP or Thunderbolt cable, and use the iMac in Target Display Mode?

    If so, has anyone had real life experience with this?
    I thought that I could do this, but the woman at the end of Apple support thought not, but she didn't really sound like she knew her stuff..

    cheers
     
  2. DrDoug thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    The links I posted will give you everything you need to know, especially the 2nd one.
     
  4. DrDoug thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    #5
    Thanks, but I had already read them.

    I wanted to hear from someone who had actually tried it and got it to work.

    Am looking for real-world experience, not generic Apple solutions (not infallible).

    best
     
  5. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
  6. G-Money macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #7
    I got it to work from my 2011 11" MBA to my 2011 27" iMac - so yes, it does work.

    That being said, I feel I may have missed something, because it felt like a very convoluted process, and I needed to have two wireless keyboards to get it to work.

    But, yes, it does work.
     
  7. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #8
    What he was concerned about was connecting the 2011 Air to the 2009 iMac. TB to MDP. I'm told that works even though the reverse does not (2010 Air to 2011 iMac).

    Cheers,
     
  8. DrDoug thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    #9
    Since posting this on the forum, I have asked 5 different people in apple stores/ apple retailers and on the phone. Have had total disagreement from all 5 people. Only 1 guy said it would definitely work. I'm with him (and with you guys). Will buy the cable and let you know how I got on.

    D
     
  9. DrDoug thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    #10
    OK.. I got the kit. Tried it.

    and low and behold.....

    it works like a dream.
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Of course it works! It just goes to show that you're better off believing what Apple states on their website than you are believing what some individuals may tell you. Apple isn't infallible, but their posted information is far more likely to be accurate than some individual at an Apple store. Remember, "Genius" is only their job title, and not an indication of their knowledge, experience or expertise.
     
  11. DrDoug thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    #12
    But you can understand my honest scepticism with £1200 at stake.
    Cheers for your help!
     

Share This Page