MBA bootcamp or parallels

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by zMacintoshz, Jul 4, 2012.

1. zMacintoshz macrumors regular

zMacintoshz

which is better for the MBA boot camping windows 7 or using parallels for windows 7?
    i will be using winnows minimally. i have a 13" MBA 8Gb Ram 128ssd

2. RocketRed macrumors 6502a

If you want to save money and might do a bit of gaming, go with bootcamp.

If you are lazy and will use windows "minimally" go with parallels (although I recommend VMWare Fusion for stability).

3. WesCole macrumors 6502a

If it will just be for office use and general activities, I would go with Parallels. I use Windows in Parallels for the convenience of not having to reboot all the time. If you are using programs like AutoCAD or game a lot, then I would suggest boot camp.

4. throAU macrumors 601

throAU

If its just "i need windows for some app" then neither.

Get virtualbox. it's free, but works like parallels (no need to reboot).

It works well. The only reason I run Fusion and not Virtualbox is compatibility with VMware workstation and vSphere at work.

http://www.virtualbox.org/

5. ZBoater macrumors G3

ZBoater

I wouldn't say one is "better" than the other. They are different setups for different purposes. Some folks do both.

Going by the word "minimally", it's hard to say which one is better for YOU. What Windows applications do you intend to run? Then base your decision on that.

6. hfg macrumors 68040

hfg

You can do both with VMWare Fusion. Install the bootable BootCamp windows, and then run that same installed image as a virtual machine in Fusion under OS X. They are both running the same installation so any changes made in one environment will also be in the other.

I think you may be able to do the same thing with Parallels.

-howard

7. zMacintoshz thread starter macrumors regular

zMacintoshz

i will be mostly using explorer, but i need to be able to use the usb ports on my mac while in windows