MBA buy or don't buy

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by NikChyz, Jul 31, 2014.

1. NikChyz macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

I'm looking to jump into the Mac world real soon but I'm facing a bit of a dilemma. Should I go ahead and buy the latest MBA or should I wait until the rumored one is released in October.

I'm a University student from Canada and they have a "Student price" of $949 plus a $110 apple STORE gift card with your purchase. Do you think the cost and incentive outweighs the new specs and potential design of the new one?

Thanks for your help!

2. Meister Suspended

Meister

There is no release of a new mba this year.

Buy now. They are nice and cheap.

3. jent macrumors 6502a

jent

I'm personally waiting for a Retina MacBook Air, although that would come in 2015 at the earliest, and I doubt they would release it in the summer where educational buyers would get a discount plus an App Store gift card. If you can't wait at least half a year, I would recommend buying the current model this summer.

4. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

Boyd01

Probably not, but then there's this….

http://www.macrumors.com/2014/07/18/12-inch-retina-macbook-delayed/

5. Scepticalscribe Contributor

Scepticalscribe

If you need a Mac, buy one now, and take advantage of the various offers which are available. However, if you merely want one, I'd suggest that you wait a while, and see what transpires.

Moreover, whenever a brand new design, or technology is unveiled, I, personally wait at least six months before investing in it, simply because that is the length of time it may take to sort out any unforeseen glitches in a new system or technology.

6. capathy21 macrumors 65816

capathy21

This is solid advice. Sometimes it's better to wait for second generation releases.

7. lambertjohn macrumors 6502

Just Google around the web. There's plenty of information on the new Airs coming out in a few months.

According to 9TO5 MAC:

8. Kurso macrumors 6502