MBA for a college student? 11" or 13"?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by lego8, Dec 28, 2010.

1. lego8 macrumors regular

lego8

I'm looking to buy a laptop to bring with me to classes for taking notes, researching, and writing essays. I do a bit of photography and coding on the side, but nothing heavy.

...So I've got two questions: 1) is the Air a good choice for me? Can any other college students speak to this? 2) Should I go with the 11" or 13"? Considering the amount of reading and writing I plan to do on the machine, I'm leaning towards the 13" -- but then again, the Air is only attractive because of its small size, so isn't buying the 13" counterintuitive? The 11" is just so sexy! :cool: I feel like I'd be able to pull it out anywhere at any time. Maybe the 13" is just as small and portable though. I'd like to hear some opinions on this in particular. Thanks!

2. miguueeel macrumors member

How about a macbook pro?

3. easten700 macrumors newbie

I'm a college student using the 11 inch air, and it's perfect. Sold my 13 inch pro for it and happy I did. Its perfect for taking notes and you wont even notice it in your backpack. And DEFINITELY go for the 11 inch, after a week of using mine I couldn't even notice the size difference coming from the 13 inch.

The point you make about being able to pull it out anywhere at anytime is SO true with the air. I find myself pulling it out of my bag much more (for random things) than before.

4. 1rottenapple macrumors 65816

the 11 is perfect imo. has enough power for photo editing (so I've heard-don't personally do that), and perfect for those tiny desk they have in college lecture halls.

5. potentpotable macrumors regular

potentpotable

Agreed, those stupid desk-attached-to-chair things don't give much room, and the 11" barely makes the cut.