MBA Gen. A wireless N adaptor?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by dannster, May 26, 2009.

  1. dannster macrumors regular

    dannster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Hi all :)

    Can someone help me out and confirm whether the Gen A MBA has a wireless N adaptor?

    I just switched to 50MB/s broadband and speeds are only half of that :S
     
  2. zsnow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #2
    yes. it's a wireless N.
     
  3. reallynotnick macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #3
    Sounds like your router is running in G mode, do you have older equipment that is connected wirelessly to your N router (assuming you have an N router otherwise that's your problem right there.)
    I also have to assume you mean 50Mb/s not 50MB/s because the latter is 8x as fast.
    Oh and one last thing very few sites will be able to give you a 50Mb/s connection so it could just be the site.
     
  4. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #4
    You with Virgin media? I am, and my 50MB internet is only about 30 at best.
     
  5. dborja macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    And it supports the 5GHz carrier frequency, too...
     
  6. dannster thread starter macrumors regular

    dannster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Yeah, Virgin Media! But that's disappointing :(

    I'll give them a call tomorrow :/
     
  7. Shiner macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #7
    Make sure you know the deference between megabytes and megabits.
     
  8. dannster thread starter macrumors regular

    dannster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Make sure you know the difference between difference and deference.
     
  9. dannster thread starter macrumors regular

    dannster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    I called Virgin Media today and apparently the power output is higher than it should be for my modem. However, I removed the security key (so my network's unsecured), and it bumped up from 20 to 48Mbps :D

    I've got the engineer coming out on Friday so will have to get him to look into why the speed drops and becomes unstable with a network key!
     

Share This Page