MBA incorrectly determining external display

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by wrichards2005, May 24, 2015.

  1. wrichards2005 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    #1
    I just bought a MBA 2015 a few days ago. I'm still figuring out how to work it, I've used iOS for a while but always used Windows. I had a MBA 11" briefly a couple months ago, and it correctly displayed my monitor (via Thunderbolt to VGA adapter), and I could use the max supported resolutions, 1900x1200 and 1080. That was a 2014 MBA 11.6, and the MBA I just picked up is a 2015 13" and it thinks my monitor is a generic 13.9" when my first one detected it as a 24" correctly. I would think if anything the newer model Macbook would support it better. On Windows it would probably be a driver issue but I have no idea on one of these. Can anyone lend a hand? Thanks
     
  2. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #2
    It sound like an error.

    Try if you can get around it by going into Screensetting and hold the alt-key while selecting the scaled resolution radio-button. This will open up many more resolutions than normally presented..

    If that does not work, there exist a tool called SwitchResX (http://www.madrau.com/). But it is a bit complicated.
     
  3. wrichards2005 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    #3
    Got lucky. The adapter I use is Thunderbolt to VGA and HDMI. I had an HDMI to DVI cable laying around (my dinosaur monitor I use is preHDMI (DVI and VGA only), so I connected it and it detected it down to model number even, and its the better part of a 10 year old monitor. Thanks for the help though!


    BTW your way did work for me, the only thing that was wonky is that the highest supported display was 1900x1080 and this is a 1900x1200 monitor so it rendered a bit strange. Did work though so good advice.

    Thanks again
     
  4. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #4
    I have been using a 10 year old Apple Cinema display at 1200x1920 with a thunderbolt to DVI adapter on both a 2011 13" MBA and 2013 11" MBA, Never had any problems.

    I tried connecting and old VGA monitor using a DVI to VGA adapter plugged into the thunderbolt to DVI adapter awhile ago. That didn't work at all, but I wasn't surprised. ;)
     

Share This Page