MBA revision A. Do I need to reapply thermal compound?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by alne, Jul 12, 2010.

1. alne macrumors newbie

Hi everybody. It's my first post here but I read almost all threads, so I'm not a complete novice.
    I have an original MBA (1.6 ghz, 80 gb HDD) and there are couple of points I need some advise about.
    My MBA had always had some thermal issues, but they were not fatal, just annoying (fan was at 6200 rpm almost all the time). After 8 months of using MBA fan became too loud. I brought it to apple store and they send computer to TX for repair (warranty). As far as I understood they changed heat sink assembly. As a result fan became less noisy but it's still running at 6200 rpm almost all the time. SInce apple technicians already changed the heat sink, do I need to reapply thermal paste? WIll it be worth the efforts? Somebody please advise me and if it's possible please point to good how to page or share some advice. Also I noticed that my fan is very dusty. What is the best way to clean it?
    Couple of weeks ago left hinge of my MBA broke. Apple repaired it (free of charge on out of warranty product !) by changing whole top halve of the case (including lcd). Yesterday I noticed that new lcd has very light diagonal lines on light grey or white background. I remember that this wasn't present on old lcd. Issue is most noticeable when display is open at max angle and on light grey or white background. I saw that this is typical for revision B MBA's and for some macbooks and MBP's. Is there any new info on this? Is it solvable?
    I recently bought 128 gb runcore SSD to upgrade my stock 80 gb HD. Can somebody share good how to and specific tips for this procedure? I have read iFixit guide and whole 14 pages thread here on Macrumors, but it will be nice to get latest update. I want to avoid the sleep issues with SSD by all means.
    Sorry for long post and thank you very much for your help in advance!