Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

snafu4015

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 1, 2009
Hi everyone,

I am an MBA student who just switched to Mac a few days ago. I already transferred everything from my PC and it would be nice to never have to use it again.

Now I am trying to figure out which office suite to load on my new MacBook Pro. For my MBA classes I need certain functionalities found in Excel such as add-ins (Sover, StatPro, etc). I also own an ecommerce business for which I use Quickbooks, and all of my product data was created in Excel. I am trying to decide if it would be better to run only Mac-based applications, or if i should also install windows and windows apps (Office and Quickbooks), or maybe some combination of both. Cost is a bit of an issue but i think functionality is most important.

So here is what I am trying to decide:

Office Suite:
- iWork (approx $70)
- NeoOffice (free)
- MS Office '04 or '08 for Mac (approx $110)
- MS Office on a Windows installation (free since I already have the software)

Then there is the question of whether I should get Quickbooks for Mac or run my Windows version (if I choose to install windows)

If I choose to install Windows on my Mac and then install MS Office and Quickbooks on Windows it would be totally free because i already have the software. However, again, I'm not sure I want to "corrupt" my new Mac by immediately putting Windows on it before considering other options, lol.

I've seen similar questions posted around but wanted to ask it myself for my situation.

Thanks in advance for any insight you might be able to provide.

Floris1994

Jan 4, 2009
I would put windows in since it will save quite a bit of money...
Installing windows on a mac does not corrupt it.
Since you have a license for office mabey just download it from a torrent, not sure if that is legal though.

knowledge!

macrumors newbie
Jan 30, 2009