MBA SuperDrive... Anyone figure it out?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by OldSkoolNJ, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. OldSkoolNJ macrumors 6502

    OldSkoolNJ

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #1
    Just wondering if anyone has written anything to make it work with other Macs yet? Anyone figure out what restricts it from working with other machines? I would love to replace the beast of an external drive I have with this beautiful piece of work. I don't use the external a lot but enough I want one around. At the same time anyone figure out how to make the GUI interface of remote disk work with other machines? I know there is way to remote disk anything and have done it before but the GUI they added to this service is beatiful for the MBA. I would love to be able to use either of these things with out the MBA. Thanks guys

    Kevin :apple:
     
  2. ahaxton macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #2
    The MBA has a special high powered USB port that can power the superdrive.
     
  3. OldSkoolNJ thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldSkoolNJ

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #3
    Ok so someone just needs to make some sort of Hi Powered Hub or a cable Adapter that can power it for other Macs. I hope someone sees a market for this. There is such a good sized market for this to work with other Macs. I can tell you that from personal experience from my shop. Someone get on this quick!

    Question - Does the Mac see it at all when it is plugged in to it? (other than the MBA that is)

    Kevin :apple:
     
  4. ModestPenguin macrumors 6502

    ModestPenguin

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    OKC
    #4
    its not hard, i mean i took a core2duo and made it into a blisterpack that I power using both the usb and the firewire ports on my friends 12" PB G4.

    give me a soldering iron and 2 weeks,
    :rolleyes:
     
  5. riyadc2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #5
    If its only a power issue and not a driver issue something like this should make it work on other computers.
     
  6. Adokimus macrumors 6502a

    Adokimus

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    I believe that it is a driver issue. Some people have already tried powered USB hubs to no avail. I'm not sure if this is the same under bootcamp, but I would imagine it is.
     
  7. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #7
    Somewhere I read that it wasn't a power issue but a driver issue. System profiler shows same power consumption as any other device.
     
  8. iHerzeleid macrumors 6502a

    iHerzeleid

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #8

    AppleInsider
     
  9. OldSkoolNJ thread starter macrumors 6502

    OldSkoolNJ

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #9
    Okkkk .. so its back to software. So does anyone know anyone trying to work on this? ANy mentions on the net?

    I would like to follow progress.

    Kevin
     

Share This Page