Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KohPhiPhi

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 9, 2011
Hello guys,

Here's my deal: I am a web admin who needs a portable working computer. Right now I have a 27" iMac, but I travel a lot so I want to switch the iMac for a 13" laptop as my sole working station.

I was waiting for the MBP 13" update but the 1280x800 resolution killed it for me. So I'm turning my head to the MBA 13" Ultimate (2.13 Ghz, 4gb Ram, 256 SSD). I really need the extra resolution while I work on the road and I don't want to drag a heavy 15" around.

I have a 27" display at home which I intend to hook up to the MBA while I work at home. I often have tons of applications open at once: Mail, PhotoShop (mild use, nothing super pro), DreamWeaver, FTP, Firefox with like a dozen tabs open, ScreenFlow to record my screen, Keynote for slide presentations, Skype for work video conferences, etc. All that at once.

I dont intend to play games, or watch movies, or any 3D graphics at all.

My question is: will the 13" MBA Ultimate be able to cope with that hooked up to an external monitor? please mind that I'm going to make of it my sole working computer.

Thank you in advanced.

PS: why did they have to gimp the new MBP 13" with the 1280x800 resolution? why, oh, why?!!

Last edited:

iNotion

macrumors 6502
Jun 5, 2008
Singapore
Let a "13" MBA ultimate" owner to tell you the answer.

Answer to your "possible?": yes.

I use adobe web premium, microsoft office, iWork, iMovie etc...
But if you are using MBA for intense video editing (final cut or Adobe premiere pro), i am sure it will be lagging...

sam67uk

macrumors member
Jul 15, 2010
Northern Ireland
I've this setup and very :) with it!

I have this setup of a 2.13 MBA hooked up to a 27" Cinema Display. I'm fact, I sold my 24" iMac to fund part of this purchase.