MBA VS iPad

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by BenTyrrell, May 26, 2012.

1. BenTyrrell macrumors newbie

i am thinking of getting an ipad for films and interent browsing, listening to music is key.

I have an iphone 4 and mabook pro 13" already and the ipad would be a portable device that i would take everywhere

however my friend says they r pointless and i might as well get a macbook air
    help me decide people

2. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

Make your own decision based on your own needs and not those of your friend

I have an iPhone 4s, a MBA and an iPad and use all 3 for different things
    And I love them all

3. kaielement macrumors 65816

You have a laptop already and based on your needs if you think you will watch lots of movies music and internet I would go with a iPad but really it's up to you and it's what you think you will use it for.

4. 3dflyboy1 macrumors 6502

The iPad is not "pointless," and since you already have a 13" pro I think an iPad would be the better option.

5. DollaTwentyFive macrumors 6502a

I have an MBA, an iPhone and an iPad. They all serve different purposes.

You need to decide what is right for you, but it seems to me that two laptops would be a bit redundant.

For browsing, music, watching video - I think the iPad is a great solution. Not as cumbersome as having a hinged clamshell.

6. macPDX macrumors newbie

MBA vs iPad

have an iPad - love it for it's unsurpassed portability - it fits easily in a small bag, easier still to pull out and use if you have limited time or space.
    (standing in line, at crowded coffee shop, on a plane). It's great for staying in touch, checking emails, watching videos, reading e-books, listening to music (although I still prefer an ipod for music) and some games.

I also have an MBAir - love it for it's full size key-board, larger screen and the