MBA with Dual Monitors - What's changed?

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by nc11, Jul 17, 2013.

1. nc11 macrumors member

So I got my new 13" MBA connected to 2 Dell monitors, using a Matrox DP adapter. With 10.8 I've used the matrox software the extend the display across the 2 screens and managed the positioning of the windows between the two.

I've upgraded to 10.9 DP3 hoping I'll be able to use the 2 monitors as two separate displays, where I can drag a window to one, expand its view to full-screen and continue that with other windows, swapping between those with a swipe.

I'm baffled as to how that would work though! everything I've tried so far does not yield the right result. The only thing I can do is mirror the display on the two monitors. Coming to OSX from windows this is quite frustrating...

Does anyone has any ideas? Am I missing a trick here? I know that I can probably get this to work if I'll swap the monitors to TB ones, but that's not an option.

Thx,

NC

2. ilkhan4 macrumors newbie

The problem is likely the Matrox DP adapter. Which model do you have? Are you still running the Matrox software on 10.9?

3. nc11 thread starter macrumors member

Its the dualhead2go running on 10.9 dp3

----------

Oh and the MBA is of course in clamshell mode...

4. jdechko macrumors 68040

The Matrox DualHead & TripleHead products don't work that way.

You have 2 monitors, but the computer only sees it as a single monitor. So when you tell an app to go "Full screen" on the external screens, for all the computer knows, there is a single 3840x1200 display.

You will need some window resizing utility (like Moom) to manage the windows in the way you are asking.

5. nc11 thread starter macrumors member

So there's no way to create 2 separate external displays? is there any other product that will enable that? Seems like a big miss if that's the case!

6. jdechko macrumors 68040