MBA works with photoshop CS6?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by cookie053177, May 3, 2012.

  1. cookie053177 macrumors newbie

    cookie053177

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #1
    Hello guys, I recently purchased mba 2011 (256gb with i5 ulti), and incoming release of Adobe CS6, I would like to ask if my machine is capable of running CS6?

    In company I will be given a mac mini 2011 and at home I have a macbook air 2011.

    The Photoshop CS6 mentions they need:

    Mac OS

    Multicore Intel processor with 64-bit support
    Mac OS X v10.6.8 or v10.7
    1GB of RAM
    2GB of available hard-disk space for installation; additional free space required during installation (cannot install on a volume that uses a case-sensitive file system or on removable flash storage devices)
    1024x768 (1280x800 recommended) resolution display with 16-bit color and 512MB of VRAM
    OpenGL 2.0–capable system

    as I know my machine is is good for these but I am not sure with the OpenGL 2.0 system. Same as the VRAM.

    It would be great if anyone tried out the beta and let me know, thank you!
     
  2. aeboi macrumors 65816

    aeboi

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Bay Area
  3. cookie053177 thread starter macrumors newbie

    cookie053177

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #3
    thanks, you also using it? I subscribed the creative cloud membership and just realized my machine may not be capable for running it. =(
     
  4. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #4
    Why wouldn't it run it?

    Photoshop is not that intensive of an application.
     
  5. JoshGlzBrk macrumors 6502a

    JoshGlzBrk

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #5
    Photoshop could run on a cheap $100 netbook... it will be fine.
     
  6. cookie053177 thread starter macrumors newbie

    cookie053177

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #6
    nah, just kinda curious/worry about it since CS6 is a big jump from previous CS series.
     
  7. aeboi macrumors 65816

    aeboi

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #7
    no worries, it's plenty capable

    works well for me
     
  8. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #8
    Its not that big of a jump. Dont let adobe fool you.
     
  9. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #9
    I'm not sure how many functions are tied to OpenGL, but it can still be disabled. You'd just lose access to those functions. In CS4/5 it's totally doable. CS6 seems to be more dependent. The HD3000 would support OpenGL 2.0. In my opinion the discrete gpu option with the mini isn't very good, so I wouldn't worry about getting that version. The HD3000 shares with main memory, which is obviously slower than dedicated ram. Upgrade it to at least 8GB of ram so that it can allocate more to the gpu. Photoshop is only somewhat intensive if you're dealing with larger files, 16 or 32 bpc, etc. Otherwise it's pretty light on the hardware. If you're dealing with files that must be saved .psb, it's quite different, but that would suck with 4GB of ram either way (the ssd helps, but not enough).
     
  10. cookie053177 thread starter macrumors newbie

    cookie053177

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #10
    thanks a lot folks, my main job is just web designer so I create PSD for webs and at the same time AI/coda/textmate/transmit/chrome side by side.
     
  11. JohnRocks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    #11
    I would still like to do an upgrade my machine for CS6.
     
  12. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #12
    More than enough. I can do what you do on a 1.5Ghz Core 2 Duo, if not more on that machine. We used to do this kind of stuff on old PowerPC G3's :D
     
  13. colour macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #13

    Really ? I disagree I have maxed out 18 GB of ram in my MACPRO not to mention the scratch disk with photoshop.

    On a macbook pro 13' I have used photoshop till the macbook needed to be restarted, multiple times.

    People should remember that you can install and start up most applications, what people don't realize is that they wont run efficiently on all apple machines. If you just want to crop a photo or run a filter through it then it should be fine but once you start working on large format canvases with 100 + layers you will understand how intensive of an application photoshop can be.
     
  14. SDAVE, May 7, 2012
    Last edited: May 7, 2012

    SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #14
    Um trust me, you don't push Photoshop as much as I do.

    Sure, if you're working with PSB files that are 5GB in size, things might be wrong here. In this case, memory + ssd's come into play more than the CPU. It will slow down on every CMD+S

    Also if your files are 5-10GB then you must be doing something wrong. No way do you need to have images that big, even if you keep vector images and your document is 300dpi and high res.
     
  15. JoeG4 macrumors 68030

    JoeG4

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Bay Area, Ca.
    #15
    You'll probably be fine. I have some (SMALL) PSDs with tons of layers and they are just fine. :)
     
  16. colour macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #16
    When I was doing my time at university I would be pushing out portfolios using AI PS and ID on a regular basis. (B Design in Visual Communication and then a B Design in Architecture). Out of all the adobe apps, photoshop eats the most RAM by far. During crunch time it would always freeze up even with my quad MAC PRO with 18 gb ram. Also, 300 dpi ? really ? 600 minimum, maybe if your working on an A4 scale 300 dpi would be enough, when you branch outside the home based photography realm you realize that 300 dpi is not even considered an industry standard.

    If you dont mind me asking what do you do that you "push Photoshop as much" as you do. ??
     
  17. unibility macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
  18. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    300dpi isn't industry standard? Professional Photography books are usually printed at 400dpi, 300dpi is more than high enough for most applications, even the difference between 300dpi and 400dpi is hard to tell, I've seen 600dpi and you're wasting your time, you cannot tell the difference under normal conditions at all. More important is the paper stock choice, very few papers will accept over 400dpi, they just can't take the ink differential.
     
  19. whitebook macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #19
    final year student graphic designer here with an i5 11" air and a 27" i7 iMac. I work on the air a lot with photoshop, indesign and illustrator and it runs fine. Obviously for heavier work i have the iMac but all 3 applications run well on the air, considering its size. I absolutely love my air, perfect laptop for me.
     
  20. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #20
    Photoshop has the potential to become a VERY intensive app. e.g. when batch processing, large document format...
     
  21. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #21
    Not as much as After Effects or a 3D project.
     
  22. colour macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #22
    we are talking about photoshop and other print based design applications, no one even mentioned 3d or vis. Photoshop is the biggest ram/gpu/cpu whore comparing to any other print design application, you tend to believe otherwise.
     
  23. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #23
    That's not my point.
     
  24. colour macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #24
    go on explain your point then... you also failed to tell me what you actually do, its just that you claimed that you pushed photoshop more than others here.

    what is your set up ?
     
  25. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #25
    Who cares? It's just a computer. A stupid tool.

    It's all about the work.
     

Share This Page