MBP 1.83ghz, Max RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mark-Mac-Attack, Jun 18, 2008.

  1. Mark-Mac-Attack macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Hi,

    got myself an early MBP,

    had a single 512MB installed,

    put in 2GB, wouldn't boot,

    put in 1.5GB and would boot.

    Was pretty sure these work with 2GB?

    Any thoughts?

    Tried combinations of RAM and both slots etc. No joy...:confused:

    Cheers,
     
  2. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    That's odd, as that model should be able to take 2GB of RAM (with a 1GB stick in each slot).

    And you tried every combination, with all the RAM, and all the slot variations, and made sure that the RAM was properly seated each time?
     
  3. amoda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #3
    It might be a faulty stick that's stopping the laptop from booting.

    Try this:

    You have 2 1GB sticks, x&y and 1 512mb stick, z.

    Try x+z

    and y+z

    If I'm right one of them shouldn't work. If both do then you have a messed up laptop!
     
  4. Mark-Mac-Attack thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #4
    ok, well ill check ive defo done this,

    but they both worked fine in my iMac...:apple:
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Did you discharge your body before you touched the RAM; I've had time when static killed the memory because I took it out and forgot to discharge myself.
     

Share This Page