MBP 13'' and CS5

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Fanthomas, Mar 25, 2012.

  1. Fanthomas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #1
    Hi! Quick question!

    I'm about to buy a new MBP. I was wondering if the 13 inches version can run Adobe premiere and photoshop nicely. I'm not going to over do it but I want it to work good. I also play WoW from times to times. Is the 13 inches model a good choice for me? Thanks a lot!
     
  2. DrNick8404 macrumors member

    DrNick8404

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    I run Lightroom, After effects, Final cut pro and the new CS6 Photoshop on my late 2011 MBP 13' base model. It ran ok but I went to newegg and got myself 16gb of ram for $110 and it all run beautifully. By the way.... Apple charges you $200 to upgrade from 4gb to 8bg ;)

    ----------

    i dont know about WoW though...sorry
     
  3. Fanthomas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #3
    You are telling me you can upgrade to 16gb of ram on the 13 inches? I thought the maximum was 8gb!
     
  4. DrNick8404 macrumors member

    DrNick8404

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #4
    haha... of course you can! :) there is 2 slots for ram, 2x2gb. take them out pop in 2x8gb and BAM! they are the same exact size and everything :)

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/apple/memory/

    Its too expensive to buy here^^^.... but its proof (so is my mac) there are a bunch of threads about it on here too :)

    by on amazon or new egg. I use corsair 16gb ddr3
     
  5. Ohrstrom macrumors 6502

    Ohrstrom

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    WoW worked decently for me on a Mid2009 13" Mbp with only one 4GB module in it, though I do have a nvidia card in mine but Im guessing the current Intel HD 3000 is working quite well too.
     
  6. that1guyy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
  7. DrNick8404 macrumors member

    DrNick8404

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #7
    :) :) :) $$$$$
     
  8. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    Not with 13in.
    The 13in uses i7-2640M for 2.8GHz.
    The max for this series is 16GB.

    Only quad core MBP's can use 32GB.
     
  9. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    I run PS on my 11" MacBook Air. I think 13" MacBook Pro will do fine.
     
  10. Fanthomas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #10
  11. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #11
    the max is 8GB to apple because thats the max upgrade they offer, they dont sell the 2x8GB sticks
     
  12. chrisvee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #12
    The new 13" MBP should run CS5 just fine. I have the 2010 13" with 8GB RAM that runs all of the programs quite smoothly.

    You should also consider the screen real estate. Though perfect for on-the-go use, I find the 13" screen to be a little cramped at times - but that can be easily remedied by a larger external screen.
     

Share This Page