Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Polofiesta

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 18, 2011
I just bought my new MBP 13' and I was wondering what do I do with the battery. I booted it u and setup everything with just the battery but my battery is 84% charged. Does this mean I have a refurbished model or is this normal. This is my first time booting it and it was at 84%. And should I drain the battery or charge it to full?

alust2013

macrumors 601
Feb 6, 2010
On the fence
It comes with a partial charge, as is standard practice by manufacturers. You can let it drain a bit or just charge it straight away.

DESNOS

macrumors 6502
Aug 24, 2011
The battery is always slightly below 100% when you get it. That's normal. You don't need to run it down first, just charge it to full. Make sure you do run it down every week or so to keep it healthy though, but there's no reason to when you first get it.

GuitarG20

macrumors 65816
Jun 3, 2011
that's normal. no battery ships fully charged. you might wanna consider something smaller than a 13 foot pro, though... i've heard they aren't very portable. :p

Prodo123

macrumors 68020
Nov 18, 2010
that's normal. no battery ships fully charged. you might wanna consider something smaller than a 13 foot pro, though... i've heard they aren't very portable. :p

No, I think he means the model with a 3-year battery lifespan. After all, it has a 13 foot battery.

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
I just bought my new MBP 13' and I was wondering what do I do with the battery. I booted it u and setup everything with just the battery but my battery is 84% charged. Does this mean I have a refurbished model or is this normal. This is my first time booting it and it was at 84%. And should I drain the battery or charge it to full?