MBP 13" mid 2010 + Samsung 830 + Seagate Momentus XT

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sairo, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. Sairo macrumors regular

    Sairo

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Almere
    #1
    Can someone please, please, please help me sort this out.
    There are so many SSD topics but I can't find the right answer.

    I have a mid 2010 MBP 13" and ordered a Samsung 830 26GB.
    I have an optibay ready to be used so when my SSD arrives tomorrow its rock and roll.

    Now comes the tricky part;
    do I put my SSD in my optibay or main HDD spot?

    Since the 2010 model doesn't have Sata 6Gb/s it should not make a difference right?
    I currently have a Seagate Momentus XT 500GB hybrid drive and I'm not sure if this drive supports build in motion sensor. Since the main HD spot supports sms I'm was thinking about putting the SSD in de optibay.

    Does it mather if I put my SSD in de optibay?
    Will sleep and hibernate still work while my OS X is being booted from the optibay?
    Does sms work only in the HD spot or is it build into the unibody?

    I'm not looking for comments about overkill with my Samsung 830, I did it on purpose for a future upgrade.
    Also not looking for comments on using the search function because I went trough the whole Samsung 830 thread without my point coming up.

    Can someone please help me with clear answers?
    I hate pulling apart my baby 10 times if I can keep it to 1 or 2.
     
  2. iNewbie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #2
    All I can tell you is that I have the 2010 15 inch hi res mac book pro.

    I installed a SSD in the primary location and the original HD where the optical was. I've seen many posts about not to do it that way but I'm not 100 pct sure the reason.

    My laptop is fine with 1 exception. It doesn't like hibernation. So I just turned that off.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. Sairo thread starter macrumors regular

    Sairo

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Almere
    #3
    So when you open up the screen you have to reload your apps manually?
     
  4. iNewbie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #4
    Not at all. The MBP is in suspend where the battery is keeping the memory powered I guess. It an live a LONG time in this state. I open the laptop and go.

    My problem is if it hibernates and writes all the memory out to disc. My setup does not like that I'm pretty sure due to the SSD. I saw other people reporting this back at the time. Not sure if there's a fix as I never really need hibernate anyway.
     
  5. Sairo thread starter macrumors regular

    Sairo

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Almere
    #5
    Installed my SSD in de optical bay and no problems so far.
    I can close and open up the lid without any hesitation.
    SSD is amazing!
     

Share This Page