MBP 13" now?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by magimat, Nov 4, 2010.

1. magimat macrumors newbie

Hi,

I've been a PC guy all my life and I'm finally ready to make the switch and try a mac. My Dell laptop is aging and I've been looking into the Macbook line recently.

The size that attracts me the most is definitly 13". I currently own a Dell m1330, which is almost exactly the same size as the MBP 13" and I am quite comfortable with this size.

I plan on using it mostly to surf the web and read emails, but I will also certainly manage my photos and I have a lot of recorded videos of my daughter that I would like to play with and make some DVDs. Also, I'm not an hardcore gamer but I enjoy some gaming once in a while so I would probably install Windows 7 with bootcamp and install a game or two.

Finally, I work as a developper and I would like to play around with objective-c and try some stuff on my iPhone. I will probably never make it to the app store, but I want to get some experience with XCode and iPhone developping.

So I am very interested by the MBP 13", but I have the feeling that it is the "underdog" in the MB line right now. I mean, the Core 2 processors are definitly not the latest and greatest and with all this hype about SSD, I'm not sure I would feel very good about buying an old school 5400rpm harddisk....

Anyway, I really like the design and size of the MBP 13" and the backlit keyboard, but I'm wondering if I should maybe wait a few other months and hope Apple will update the MBP 13" to some more actual specs. I would really love to see the new screen and SSD of the MBA into the MBP 13" and maybe an i3 or i5 processor.

So, what do you guys think? Should I go for it right now or wait a little bit? Apple just announced the new MBA, so how long so you think it will take before they refresh the MBP line? Keep in mind that this will be my first Mac, so any advice is welcome.

Thanks!

2. shyam09 macrumors 68000

shyam09