MBP 15" back cover screw stuck

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kublaiboy, Dec 24, 2011.

1. kublaiboy macrumors member

Guys,

I just got the 8GB memory kit from OWC today. Tried to remove the top edge screws(1 short, 3 long), but one of the long one is loose, but stuck. It's the top right corner one. It won't come out. I've turned that screw over 50 times, still won't pop out. I have the late 2008 and early 2009 MBP 15". Any way I can get that long screw out. This is really annoying. This is my first time tried to open the back cover.

Thanks.

Shaun

2. vitzr macrumors 68030

vitzr

When you loosened it, did you feel it backing out?

3. kublaiboy thread starter macrumors member

The strange thing is it did not feel it's backing out when I turned the screw loose and it's been sitting at the same height all the time. So the only explanation is the threads are stripped. How's that possible??? I was only loosening it. The screws have lock tight on them, I noticed. This is really a bad news for my xmas. :mad:

4. vitzr macrumors 68030

vitzr

Anything is possible. What comes to mind, is it was cross threaded during assembly. Tiny screws lack the same amount of tactile feedback as larger ones, therefore it's not always easy to detect when backing out the screw.

I would suggest you spray a small amount of WD-40 on it. Thats a safe chemical around electronics so no worries about hurting anything. Once you've sprayed the screw, using your screwdriver turn it just one quarter turn, both left and right, to allow the liquid to penetrate and lube the threads.

The next thing to do is place the back edge of the computer on your work surface so the screw is in the horizontal position. Gently attempt to unscrew it with light pressure, not too much force on the screw driver. You only need to back it out until you can grab the head with pliers.