Resolved MBP 15 Inch ATI 6970 Not in Use

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DeadLegend, Aug 9, 2011.

  1. DeadLegend, Aug 9, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2011

    DeadLegend macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #1
    I just got my mbp and when I looked in my system profiler, I found that my ATI 6970 1GB card was not the default, and appeared to not be in use. Is this a normal setting, can I change it, will the ati card kick in when it is necessary?
     
  2. pianist1016 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    #2
  3. DeadLegend thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #3
    Thanks

    Thats what I thought would happen, thank you for confirming.
     
  4. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #4
    gfxCardStatus is a great utility for checking and assigning which video card your MBP is using. Its a good way to save power when you are unplugged.
     
  5. blazeken996 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #5
    Hold on... How did you get a 6970m in a 15 Inch? I thought it only came with 6750 or 6490?
     
  6. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #6
    lol I was about to say the same thing

    ditto
     
  7. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #7
    maybe he was dreaming he had a 6970M.
    A GPU that sucks more power than the MBP power adapter can provide. It would be quite useless such a Notebook.

    @op Seriously use gfxCardStatus. The problem with Apple's idiotic autoswitching is not that the AMD GPU gets used but rather that it gets used for all kinds of stuff that it isn't necessary and just kills battery life. Run Skype in the Background and it seems to think the AMD GPU is necessary.
     

Share This Page