MBP 15'' Unibody - Cover closed = insomnia

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Jules242, Mar 21, 2009.

1. Jules242 macrumors member

Hello everyone, I am a pretty desperate macbook pro user with some very bad problems... I hope that you guys could offer some advice!

About a week and a half ago, when I closed the cover of my macbook pro, I saw that it would attempt to go to sleep, the status light would dim down... and then the cd drive would spin up, the apple light would flash, and it would turn itself on once again (with nothing at all plugged in). No restart would help this, no NVRAM/PRAM clearing, no update, ... nothing. This would happen perpetually until the battery drains itself, and the laptop reaches an extremely high temperature. I decided to take it to the apple store...

Here is what they found:

They plugged in their external drive and booted off a stock copy of OS X. It was able to go to sleep without any issue, and would not wake up 15-20seconds after closing the lid (it keeps on doing this till the battery is drained). Even with all the SMC/EFI updates available for this product, and clearing the NVRAM/PRAM on startup, nothing would fix it. They told me they did an archived reinstall, but it still has the problem, which they said confirms that I need to do a full erase/reinstall.

(http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=8819235&#8819235 ----> see how many others are having this issue.. and are getting no help)

Their conclusion is that this is an OS issue, not a hardware issue, and that I'd have to reinstall. I'm really, really not happy about this naturally, but what can we do .... NOW... after wanting to REINSTALL, I plug in my external hard drive to back up my stuff (its a 3rd party case with my hard drive inside), and I get that translucent gray wipe down screen saying that I need to hold the button and restart... complete crash.