MBP 17 Firwire400 port Issue

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mikezhao911, Jun 19, 2008.

  1. mikezhao911 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #1
    I just bought my first MBP a week ago. Last night, I tried to connect 2.5' HDD enclosure with MBP. However, the connection of Firewire 400 Port looks like loose while firewire cable plug-in. Is it normal or not?

    Also, Mac OS cannot detect my 2.5' enclosure as well. but it is working properly in Window OS.

    My firewire port is faulty, isn't it?

    Cheers
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    I have seen loose cable in the firewire 400 port, but it's the case of the cable.

    Have you tried another cable?
     
  3. mikezhao911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
  4. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #4
    from my experience the FW400 port is kinda loose. It doesnt pose a problem though if you don't touch/move it while in use.

    Its been that way for my current MBP as well as the one I sold. Its probably the cable.
     
  5. mikezhao911 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #5
    thanks for your suggest. that cable was defective with Macbook Pro. Swap another cable and work properly now.

    But it is very strange that the defective cable can working properly with my PC. Any idea about this?

    Thanks again
     

Share This Page