MBP 17 for an architecture student- advice please?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jrockette, Aug 8, 2010.

1. jrockette macrumors newbie

Hi, this is my first post here so please bare with me for any n00bness :)

Okay, I'm an architecture student looking for a new notebook. I'm still undecided about "going mac" for the first time so I just want some honest opinions from people who use macbook pros for serious 3D designing and heavy, ram-hungry, graphical use. If I buy one it will definitely be the 17"- need the high res.

Some of the things that concern me is that I gather you can only get 512mb dedicated graphics, and that the 17" isnt available with i7 quad core (??) or with more than 4gb RAM (ideally I'd like 6gb min). Correct me if I'm wrong.
    Have people found these specs sufficient for the uses I'm talking about? Additionally I know I will have to run Windows Bootcamp for some programmes, was wondering how that affects your studies having to always switch?

Maybe what I'm asking for seems like an overkill, but I'm not technically minded and seriously not looking to upgrade until I finish my degree and I really need something futureproof. So if any architects or similar design students could tell me how they find using the mbp purely for their work I'd be super grateful (things like aesthetics, OS, brand dont really matter to me if you know what I mean) thanks

(once again this is my first post so sorry if this topics been done- I did search the forums and guides as best I could)

tl;dr - how are the macbook pros (17) for architecture students?

2. tiwizard macrumors regular

You can upgrade to 8GB IIRC

It takes 2 seconds for my MBP to turn off, another 30-40 for Windows to boot up-- it isn't really time consuming. You can also run VMWare Fusion/Parallels off of your Bootcamp partition so you can use the same partition in Bootcamp and a VM.

3. MikeinJapan macrumors regular